Skip to content

Why?

August 24, 2007
tags: ,

When the idea of starting a blog began to mingle in my mind, I had to ask myself “why?”. I had been reading my friend Kim’s blog for several weeks and I started to get a few ideas about things I could write. But why would I take the time to post my ramblings on a weblog, where most likely no one, except maybe my husband, will ever read any of it? Besides, my husband already gets an earful of my nonsense every day, so even he probably won’t read it. So why not just write in a journal? Because the thought that someone might read it is very intriguing, and very humbling.

I am certainly not a talker. In fact, I bet if you asked any one outside my immediate family to describe me, the first words that would come to mind would be shy and quiet. But I have always loved to write. I am one of those wierdos who always preferred the essay tests to the multiple choice. I just love the opportunity to put words on paper, or on a screen. And since I’ve been out of school, the opportunities to write something about some random subject just don’t present themselves anymore.

I think part of the reason I don’t care as much for talking is that most of the time I doubt that my audience is really all that interested in what I have to say. Here, if you happen to stumble across my page and find something interesting, great. But you can easily walk away in mid sentence without fear of insulting me. In writing, the pressure to make some kind of compelling revelation in the first few breaths is just not there. I can let my mind and my fingers go where they will and not worry that you are sitting there with a blank stare wondering if I have a point or not. I usually do have a point, but I like to take the back roads to get there.

So here it is, the beginning of my blog.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    August 27, 2007 3:44 pm

    I am so glad you are blogging! I can already tell it is going to be great! I am adding you to my blogroll right now. If you wondered how I found you 🙂
    I saw you linked up to my blog on the admin. side.
    Kim

  2. Eric permalink
    August 27, 2007 8:00 pm

    You made me laugh out loud. I’m sure the peeps in the other cubicles are rolling their eyes. “…Wondering if I have a point…take the back roads…” Shamefully I have wondered that many times over the years. Your writing is compelling and engaging; no need to worry about my walking away mid-sentence, I’m glued.

Leave a Reply

