Skip to content

Standing up

August 28, 2007

In the last few weeks, my eight month old has started standing up in his crib. When I lay him down for a nap, he crawls to the rail and pulls himself up. He’s excited and proud of himself for a moment, but soon he realizes that he doesn’t know how to get down. Then the crying begins. If I go in right away to lay him back down, he just immediately climbs back up. So I usually give it 10 minutes or so, until he is really regretting his decision to stand up, and then I have a hope that he’ll just lay there and go to sleep. Sometimes I still have to lay him back down 2 or 3 times before he realizes that what he really wants is sleep.

Sometimes I am so much like him in my walk with God. He puts me where He wants me, but I am not good at sitting still. So I go ahead with my plans, only to find myself stuck, not knowing how to get myself out of the mess I am in. I cry out to God, looking for him to rescue me, and He always does. But sometimes He lets me wait it out a little bit, until I recognize that His way is the best way. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

