Skip to content

the designer dog

September 11, 2007
tags: , ,

I am not a trendy person. In fact, I usually catch on to the latest fashion just as it is fading into oblivion. But somehow I managed to get caught up in the idea of the designer dog. You know, yorkie poos, cockapoos, schnoodles, etc…

With 3 boys, I knew it was just a matter of time before we HAD to get a dog. I am the kind of person who will usually find the cheapest solution for anything we need to purchase. I am a value-seeker to the core. But when it came to getting a dog, I was a little more careful.

I know a lot of people get wonderful family pets from shelters, but we have not been so lucky. My husband and I adopted a “yellow lab mix” from a shelter early in our marriage. What started out as the smartest, greatest dog you could imagine, turned into a terror. He attacked other animals, children, and even bit me and my husband before we finally had him put down. Our vet determined he probably had some kind of chemical imbalance, but it is possible he just had some aggressive tendencies based on his genetics and his life before we knew him.

When it came time to get a dog for our kids, I couldn’t take that risk again. I had to know exactly where it came from, who its parents were, and what its life was like before we brought it home. So, after a lot of research, I decided that a Golden Retriever would be the best dog for us. Loyal, submissive, friendly, and great with kids. But all that sweetness comes with a ton of shedding and genetically poor hips and eyes.

Then I discovered the GoldenDoodle: half golden retriever, half poodle. Yes, I know it is a ridiculous name. But this dog is supposed to have all the personality of a golden retriever with the low or non-shedding coat of a poodle. It is also supposed to be healthier because it is a mixed breed. So, I fell for it.

Amber lives up to every bit of the hype. She is the sweetest dog, and she loves the kids. In fact, one of her favorite places to lay is beneath my 8 month old’s bouncing feet while he’s in his jumpy swing. We do see the occasional long white hair around the house, but way less than with any other dog I’ve known. So this is one trend that I am happy I discovered.

Amber and Sawyer

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

