Skip to content

Shine

September 12, 2007

Do you ever hear a song that you’ve heard a thousand times, and realize that you’ve never really listened to it before? It happens to me all the time. This time, my 6 year old clued me in to what the song was about.

We were in the car and the song Shine by Salvador came on the radio. Harrison told me how much he liked the song, so I asked if he knew what it was about. I always just assumed it meant that we should be a light for the world, but my son understood it much better than I did. He said “it says that we are supposed to reflect God’s light to people, like the moon reflects the sun.”

It hit me all of a sudden…we are the moon, and God is the SUN! Then I began to realize what an incredible analogy it really is. We can’t see the moon unless the sun shines on it. Without the sun, the moon is just a dark, empty rock. We cannot fulfill our purpose on the Earth without God. It just isn’t possible.

And to take it a bit further, who needs the moon? The people who can see the sun don’t need the moon, it is the people who are in the dark. Christians don’t need our light; it is the people who don’t know God who really need to see his light shining from us.

This last parallel didn’t come to me until this morning. The moon is with the Earth, for the benefit of the Earth, always reflecting the sun, but it isn’t a part of the Earth. It reminds me of Philippians 1:21-24:

For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain. If I am to go on living in the body, this will mean fruitful labor for me. Yet what shall I choose? I do not know! I am torn between the two: I desire to depart and be with Christ, which is better by far; but it is more necessary for you that I remain in the body.

Paul’s attitude in this passage makes me realize how immature I really am in my faith. He believed that his only purpose on Earth was to lead people to Christ. It was a sacrifice for him to be here instead of with Christ. If I am honest with myself, I think most of the time I am a little too comfortable here on Earth. I spend a lot more time as a dark, empty rock than I do showing His light to the people who need to see it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 18, 2007 8:49 am

    Great Insight! I especially like the part about the moon being for the people in the dark. I have used this analogy many times. One thing I have always said too, is that the moon cannot reflect the light of the sun when the world is between them. We so many times let the world get into our lives that there isn’t much, if any, reflection of the Light. Don’t let the world get in the way of reflecting the Light to those in the dark.

Leave a Reply

