Skip to content

"Mom, my room is flooded with poo!"

September 17, 2007
tags: , , ,

My oldest son appeared at my bedside at 7:10 this morning, and in his sweetest voice he whispered, “Mom, my whole room is flooded with poo!” Now, let me give you a bit of advice. If you ever have a day that begins with those words, don’t get out of bed! Just pull the covers over your head, and wake up when it is tomorrow.

My two oldest boys share a room with our dog, so I had a pretty good idea that she was the cause of the smell that hit me as soon as I started up the stairs. Harrison is known for being overly dramatic, so I was hoping that was the case this time. Much to my dismay, when I opened the door, I realized he was being pretty truthful. 

Apparently our dog had a rough night, because everywhere I looked, I saw poo. All over the floor, in the window seat, and on my son’s bed.  I don’t know if she ate something that disagreed with her, or what. But I have never seen that quantity of poo come out any animal, ever.  And of course this would happen at a time when I am completely out of carpet cleaner.

My first instinct was to run and hide. But instead, I decided to call my husband, who was probably halfway to work at this time. Somewhere inside I hoped he would tell me he was coming home to rescue me from this awful disaster, but he didn’t. He offered his condolances and continued on his way to work. Then I called my mom. I’m not sure what I thought she would do about it. I asked if she had any carpet cleaner, even though I was pretty sure she didn’t. I really wanted someone, anyone, to tell me that I didn’t have to face that nightmare upstairs. But finally it began to sink in that I am the mom now, and I am the one who gets to deal with this mess.

So I cleaned up what I could, then loaded up the kids with their disheveled hair and empty tummies, and we headed off to Wal-Mart for carpet cleaner. We got home and I sat everyone down with their breakfast and headed up the stairs. While the kids ate breakfast, I cleaned. While the kids worked on school, I cleaned. While the baby napped, I cleaned. I finally finished sometime after lunch.

As I sit here now, with the cup of coffee that I should have had first thing this morning, I feel a sense of accomplishment from the fact that I dealt with this nightmare all on my own. No one came to rescue me. I got down on my hands and knees and tackled what I know is only one of many disasters I will encounter as a mom. And, someday soon, I’m sure I will be able to forgive the dog…but not today. 🙂

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. One week down… «

Leave a Reply

