Skip to content

which face shall I wear today?

September 19, 2007
tags: ,

I have been blogging now for about three weeks, and I have encountered a challenge that I didn’t expect. I started writing as if it were a journal, and I didn’t think anyone would ever read it.  But then little by little, people I know started coming to me and telling me that they had been reading my blog. Now when I write, I wonder what each person might think of what I am saying.

It has become very clear that I have many different faces. My friends see one person, my family sees another, people in church see another, and strangers see yet another. How can I possibly write in a way that will appeal to everyone? If I imagine I am writing to one group, another group will see someone they don’t recognize. How do I reconcile all of these faces in to one? Which of these faces is real?

Honestly, I don’t know the answer. In 1 Corinthians 4:5, it says He will bring to light what is hidden in darkness and will expose the motives of men’s hearts. So perhaps only God knows which of my faces is real.

For now I will try to write as if no one is reading. I will try to write what is in my heart without spinning it to please any particular audience. I don’t know if it is possible to live that way – to just be myself without regard to who is watching. But, it is certainly something to consider.

  

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 2, 2007 5:57 pm

    Just assume everyone is watching. Even if no one else is, God is. I can’t remember the exact quote, but it is in regards to our character being the way we act when no one is watching us.

    Nice blog by the way.

Leave a Reply

