Skip to content

convenience?

October 3, 2007

I spent most of this afternoon making cookies for our small group meeting tonight, and I found myself growing frustrated with some of the “modern conveniences” that are supposed to make my life easier.

I have a fabulous oven, but it has a few features that just make me crazy. First of all it is completely digital, so every temperature or time adjustment is accompanied by a beep. My parrot has learned to repeat these beeps perfectly and loudly enough that it sounds like we have a second oven upstairs. The oven is idiot proof, and shuts itself off whenever the timer runs out. It sounds like a great idea for someone like me who can never remember to turn anything off. The problem comes when I am trying to make 5 dozen cookies and after each dozen I have to turn the oven back on and reset the temperature. The oven automatically defaults to 350 degrees, so in order to get to 400 degrees I have to press the “up” button 10 times. Beep, beep, beep, beep, beep, beep, beep, beep, beep, beep. And those beeps are then echoed by the parrot upstairs, right next to the baby’s room. Obviously, when I am trying to make that many cookies in one naptime, I would prefer to have as few “beeps” in the house as possible.

In order to combat this problem, instead of setting the oven for the 8 minutes required for my cookies, I’ll set it for 10 minutes. 8 minutes plus an additional 2 for getting the next batch in the oven. Then, if I am on top of things, I can reset the time (only 2 beeps) before the timer expires and the oven shuts off. Sadly, though, I am rarely on top of anything and I inevitably burn my cookies and end up resetting the oven temperature anyway.

The other big inconvenience in my cookie baking process is my cookie sheet. It is an ultra-lightweight air-insulated aluminum pan that claims it will keep cookies from burning on the bottom. Well, it is so lightweight that it warps from the heat of the oven, and after the first few batches, all the cookies run together in the middle of the pan to form perfect little Snickerdoodle snowmen. That would be great I guess, if this were December.

I guess this rant is over, because the oven and the bird are letting me know that my last batch of cookies is done… and the baby is now awake.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kermooch permalink
    October 4, 2007 9:09 pm

    Based on Kim’s quotes in her blog, would you say that the oven has conquered you? Ah, the rub of modern technology!

  2. scrabblenut permalink*
    October 5, 2007 10:51 am

    Indeed, the oven has conquered me many times!

  3. January 8, 2008 6:48 pm

    very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

Leave a Reply

