Skip to content

the taste of fall

October 8, 2007
Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies Fall is just beginning to show its face here in Georgia. The first crimson leaves on the dogwoods are beginning to peek out from the mass of green that surrounds them. The mornings and evenings are refreshingly cool. It is my favorite time of year. I love the crisp air and the deep blue skies. I love the sounds of the squirrels busily storing away their food for the winter. I love the smell of the leaves that will soon fill my yard, and the sound of them under my feet. I especially love all the tastes associated with fall – apples, pumpkin, cinnamon, soups and cider. I’ll be focusing a lot of my blog time in the coming weeks on some of my favorite fall recipes, beginning with this one from my sister. These cookies are pillowy soft, and with the pumpkin in them, they’re almost good for you.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 c. shortening
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 large can pumpkin
  • 5 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tbsp. nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp. + 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 package chocolate chips

Cream together sugar and shortening. Beat in eggs and pumpkin.

Sift together flour, soda, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Add to pumpkin mixture, blending until smooth. Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop by rounded spoonfuls onto baking sheet. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes.

Makes about 7 dozen cookies.

(This recipe makes a double batch. The cookies freeze well, so I like to make enough to last a few weeks. If you want to half it, you can use a regular can of pumpkin instead of a large one.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

