Skip to content

the taste of fall-part 2: Grandma Ople's Apple Pie

October 11, 2007
tags:

Apple Pie

I don’t know Grandma Ople. My grandmothers’ names are Irene and Helen. But Rebecca from Allrecipes posted this recipe and it is the best apple pie I’ve ever eaten. I made a few changes to the procedure in the original recipe, but the basic recipe is the same.

If I have the time (almost never) I’ll make this pie crust from The Joy of Baking. Otherwise I just use Pillsbury frozen crust.

Grandma Ople’s Apple Pie

  • 1 recipe pastry for a 9 inch double crust pie
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 6 Granny Smith apples – peeled, cored, sliced, and coated with cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Melt butter in a saucepan. Stir in flour to make a paste. Add in white sugar, brown sugar and water; bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile place the bottom crust in your pan and place apples in crust, mounded nicely. Pour the sugar and butter mixture over the apples, reserving a little for brushing over the top crust. Top with a lattice work of crust, then brush with remaining sugar and butter.
  3. Bake 15 minutes at 425, then reduce the temperature to 350 and bake an additional 35-45 minutes. I recommend baking on a cookie sheet in case it bubbles over a bit.
  4. Cool for 1-2 hours before slicing.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. kermooch permalink
    October 11, 2007 11:14 am

    Yummm…so where do I place my order?? I love pie with the sugary crust.

  2. Kim permalink
    October 11, 2007 3:26 pm

    Yummy! I love the pictures you put with the recipes.

Leave a Reply

