Skip to content

a day off

October 17, 2007

Yesterday my husband took a day off work so that I could go out and do some shopping. He stayed with the kids all day and helped them with their schoolwork while I went to the mall. Then afterward he stayed with them through the evening so that I could go to a meeting with a group of other home school moms.

I had no idea how much I needed a day off. It was so nice to have a few hours that I didn’t have to think about laundry or lunch or diapers or naptime. I was able to wander through the mall at my own pace, without chasing children in and out of the clothing racks. I had my thoughts to myself, without the constant interruption of “Mom, Mom, Mom, Mom…..”

It is amazing how just a little time away can renew my enthusiasm for my family. I woke up this morning actually anxious for the kids to wake up. I missed the warmth of the baby and the contagious laughter of my boys. For the first time in a while I was able to remember why I chose this path in life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

