Skip to content

eating dirt

October 19, 2007

Lately it seems like every time I turn around, the baby has something horrible in his mouth. I try to keep the floors clean, but there is always be some kind of treasure for him to find. He finds little pieces of brick from our fireplace, dirt and leaves that come in with the dog, and a variety of crumbs under the kitchen table. Fortunately, he hasn’t discovered the dog food yet. 🙂

Each time I see his hand go to his mouth, there is a moment of panic. I know that if I startle him, I’ll probably cause him to choke, so I calmly approach him to remove the item. Without fail, he clamps his mouth shut, protesting vehemently all of my efforts to get it out. I’m sure that it doesn’t taste good, so I don’t know why he would want it so badly. Maybe he just thinks that if Mom says I can’t have it, then it must be good!

Doesn’t that sound familiar? For some reason we are drawn to the things in life that have been forbidden. Does God really tell us that we shouldn’t have things because he wants us to be miserable? Of course not. He knows what will bring us joy and He knows what will cause us harm. He wants us to get rid of all the dirt in our lives, but we don’t want to let it go. We like our dirt, and we want to hold on to it, even if we don’t know why.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

