Skip to content

Converse Cake

October 22, 2007

I’ve had several requests for instructions on how this cake was made, so here goes:

Day 1: I started with the Converse shoes that I was copying. I traced the bottom of the shoes on a piece of cardboard and used those as the bases for each cake. (If I were doing it again, I would make the template a little smaller than the actual shoe because by the time I added a thick layer of ganache and a thick layer of fondant, the shoes were larger than the real shoes. These were for a teenage girl and they looked more like they could fit her dad J) I layered cake and icing on the cardboard bases to about 5 inches in height, froze them for a few hours, and then started carving. I carved them down until I had a good shoe shape, then covered them with white chocolate ganache (3:1), making sure the ganache was completely smooth & ready for fondant.  Then I refrigerated them overnight.

Day 2: I used chocolate MMF for the body of the shoe and white and pale pink MMF for the accents. I used pieces of fabric that wouldn’t shed on the cake to make patterns for cutting out the fondant. I just put a piece of the fabric on the ganache covered cake and cut around it to get the shape I wanted, then used that pattern to cut out the fondant. Then I stuck the fondant to the cake with a little piping gel. I started with the white part that would look like the inside of the shoe, then the tongue and the sides. For these shoes, the outside was brown and the inside was pink, so I just layered the two colors of fondant together before cutting out the pieces & it worked beautifully. I added all the details in the same way, one layer at a time, putting it together just like the real shoe. I put the fondant seams in the same places that the real shoes had seams.

Details:

-To make the fondant on the tops of the shoes stand up, I cut a piece of foam to fit right in the top of the shoes and left it in place while I was working on the rest of the shoe.

– Rivets: After the cake was assembled, I cut holes for the laces where the rivets would go with a round piping tip and then put the rivets over the holes. The rivets are white fondant cut out with a couple different sizes of round piping tips. After I put them on the cake, they were painted with silver dust & vodka paint. The rivets on the sides of the shoe have a very thin piece of black fondant beneath them to make them look like holes.

-For the laces, I cut several strips of white fondant with a pizza cutter, some shorter ones for the lacing & longer ones for the hanging laces. On the longer ones, I pinched the ends to look like the plastic lace binding. You can’t really see it in the photo, but I textured the laces by rolling over the top of them with the edge of a plastic mayo jar lid in a couple different directions. I also dipped the ends in piping gel to make them shiny like the plastic. Then I tucked the laces in to the holes and under the sides of the cake, securing them in place with piping gel.

-The logo was an edible image that I had printed by a supermarket bakery. I transferred the image to a circle of white fondant.

If you have any other specific questions about how I did something, just send me an e-mail.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kerri permalink
    October 23, 2011 10:21 pm

    I love that they were bigger than actual size because that meant more yummy cake to eat! Probably the most difficult cake I ever had to cut because it was so cool!

Leave a Reply

