Skip to content

condensed soup substitute

October 26, 2007
tags:
  • 3 tbs. butter
  • 3 tbs. flour
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • pepper

Melt butter in small saucepan over medium heat. Stir in flour and cook 2 minutes. Whisk in milk and stock until smooth. Continue stirring until very thick and creamy. Season with salt and pepper.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. amber permalink
    October 16, 2008 2:29 pm

    Thanks, found this when I was googling substitutes for condensed cream of chicken. Worked great!

  2. scrabblenut permalink*
    October 16, 2008 2:36 pm

    I’m glad it worked for you. Thanks for letting me know 🙂

  3. So grateful permalink
    February 26, 2009 5:12 pm

    Thanks 4 posting!!! Found this whilst googling condensed tomato soup substitute as I bought cream of soup by accident :/.
    I followed all the instructions up to adding the chicken stock. I added 1/4 cup of chicken stock and the remainder was the can of cream of tomato soup. Think it was ok as I’ve never tasted condensed soup before. But the pasta bake came out great so I guess it worked!!!
    thxxxx

  4. August 17, 2009 10:23 pm

    What a great substitute, thanks Kendra!
    To make it even healthier, you could use chicken broth labeled “no msg.”
    =)

  5. scrabblenut permalink*
    August 18, 2009 8:22 am

    Very true, Kim. My favorite store bought stock is Kitchen Basics, but Wal-Mart stopped carrying it. The Rachel Ray kind is the next best thing, unless of course you want to make your own 🙂

  6. August 25, 2009 3:48 pm

    I’ve never tried Rachel’s although I love almost every recipe I’ve tried of hers!
    I did make my own and it was, as Rachel would say, “De-lish!” I bought one rotisserie chicken at Sam’s. We ate the meat one night, then I picked the carcass and shredded that for another meal that required cooked chicken. Next, I simmered the carcass with water, carrots, onion, celery, and garlic powder and salt for about 8 hours, very low. I pulled out the carcass and strained everything through a strainer and then cheesecloth, and put the broth in mason jars. Yummo! It was delicious because there was no preservative taste. It made about 2 quarts. Now I have to either use it within a week or figure out some containers to freeze it in. This was definitely worth it and didn’t really take that much time. Thanks for the idea! =) Your blog (and the movie Julie and Julie) has got me interested in cooking again!

Leave a Reply

