Skip to content

bless it forward

November 21, 2007

It has been harder than I thought to find someone to bless this week. First of all, I have to actually leave the house. With three boys, I don’t get out much. I try to save all my errands for a time when my husband can help with the kids. Second, if you are going to see people, you can’t be in a hurry, and I am always in a hurry. I was amazed at how much I could see in people when I stopped long enough to pay attention.  All of a sudden people aren’t just a crowd, they are individuals with lives and problems and circumstances that I know nothing about. I wandered around Wal-Mart on Monday thinking that “everyone at Wal-Mart could use a blessing.” But I was overwhelmed by all the possibilities. I needed God to narrow it down for me.

I finally found someone this afternoon at the post office. I won’t go into details, because you can read them here, at the Bless It Forward Experience page. I just wanted to take a few minutes on my own blog to share how this has challenged me. What would our community be like if we each took the time to notice people? What if I really try to see people as individuals, and not just an inconvenience that keeps me in line longer than I want to be? Isn’t this what we are called to do in the first place?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

