Skip to content

what am I saying?

November 29, 2007

In our small group last night we talked about the power of words. There is no shortage of scripture on this subject.  Throughout the Bible we are warned of the dangers of the tongue. In James the tongue is compared to the rudder of a ship, a bit in the mouth of an animal, and a spark that sets a forest ablaze. I began to think about the impact of the things I say to my children each day. Where is the rudder of my mouth steering them?

It was still on my heart this morning, so I read more of what God has to say about my words. 

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. Ephesians 4:29

For out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks. Matthew 12:34

Can I honestly say that my words benefit those who hear them? Do I use my words to build others up and meet their needs? What do my words reveal about the condition of my heart?

I spent the day trying to consciously think about every word. When my son spills his cereal all over the floor, am I showing him love or anger? When he has trouble grasping a seemingly simple concept in school, am I communicating encouragement or frustration?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

