Skip to content

the power of prunes

December 10, 2007

This post is for moms only… Anyone else would probably not want to read this.

Okay, so I’ve been having trouble finding baby foods to keep the baby regular in the winter. The peaches and plums that he enjoyed so much in the summer are long gone from the produce department. So, I bought some prunes. I soaked them in boiling water until they were soft and pureed them with A LOT of water to make a pretty decent looking baby food.

He tried it for the first time last week. I’ve never given any of my babies prunes, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I gave him 1/2 cup of the prunes with 1/2 cup baby cereal. Within 30 minutes he had a diaper full. I thought that was pretty good. But then about 2 hours later more came rolling out of his diaper – up his back, down his legs, and all over. So, I figured that 1/2 cup is probably too much.

He was a little stopped up over the weekend, so I decided to try it again. But this time I only put 1 tablespooon into his usual breakfast. The morning was uneventful, so I thought I was safe. But when I went to get him up from his nap, I discovered him covered in brown smears and an array of little brown footprints around the perimeter of his bed.

I don’t think we’ll be trying prunes again any time soon 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

