Skip to content

turtle cake

December 19, 2007

I have always loved making cakes for first birthdays. The baby isn’t old enough yet to express opinions about what it should be, so I get to do whatever I want! Sawyer’s room is frogs, turtles and snails, so for his birthday cake I made a turtle.

Turtle Cake

I’ve received a lot of requests for how to make this cake, so here goes:

The easiest way to get a round cake is to use a Pampered Chef batter bowl. If you don’t have one, you can buy pans to make half round cakes in the Wilton section of craft stores. I didn’t have either of those at the time I made this cake, so instead, I just stacked up some round layers with frosting between them and then sculpted with a knife it until it was the shape I wanted. The head, legs and tail are just pieces that I cut out of scraps of cake. I drew the shapes on waxed paper first and then used those templates to cut out the cake. For the frosting, I got that fabulous turtle green color by tinting chocolate frosting with Wilton’s leaf green gel color. For the eyes, I used dots of white and green frosting, but you could also use a slice of a mini marshmallow to save making a batch of white frosting just for two small dots. I just did it with frosting because I had some on hand. Another thing – If I had it to do all over again, I would have put the cake in the freezer and made a template before adding the brown lines on the shell. I freehanded them, and consequently, they weren’t exactly straight. Decorating a frozen cake is extremely helpful because if you make a mistake you can just scrape it off without causing too much damage to the frosting beneath.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    December 20, 2007 2:25 pm

    That looks great! I am most impressed.

  2. kermooch permalink
    December 20, 2007 7:59 pm

    And now you’re the official birthday-cake-baker, too 🙂 Happy Birthday, Sawyer!

  3. fern permalink
    March 27, 2009 8:50 am

    how do u make it???????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Rebecca permalink
    March 29, 2009 3:24 pm

    This is awesome! We have always joked that my son, Truman, looks like a turtle. I decided to make a turtle cake for his first birthday, and this is exactly what I pictured in my head… do you have any tips for making it turn out so cool??!!

    Thank you! ~R

  5. Dawn permalink
    April 3, 2009 3:23 pm

    First of all, LOVE IT! I am trying to help a friend make a turtle and we were wondering what you used for arms and head. Any help would be great. Thank you.
    caterpillarkids@gmail.com

  6. Phebe permalink
    June 26, 2009 2:00 pm

    I googled “turtle cake” because I am making a turtle for my son’s b-day. Your page was the first image shown. Cute cake–and I like the idea of mixing green coloring with chocolate icing.

Leave a Reply

