Skip to content

under the weather and a few resolutions

January 1, 2008

I had great blogging intentions for the week between Christmas and New Years’, but a freak 24 hour stomach bug changed all those plans. It started with the baby the day after Christmas – a “clean-up on aisle 15” event at Sam’s. He was much better by the next morning, and then it was my turn. The next day I was well, and my middle son was hanging over the toilet. By Saturday night, our oldest was sick and he continued on through Sunday. We were sure that Eric would follow, spending all night New Year’s Eve wishing he was dead. But somehow he managed to escape the bug and ring in the New Year uneventfully.

I guess I have to blog about my resolutions. For some reason, every Christmas I decide that I don’t really have any resolutions to make. But by the time New Year’s arrives my thoughts begin to turn to the future and I inevitably think of a few things I’d like to change. So here goes:

  1. Read more. I want to read one new book every month. This one may be a little ambitious while I’m homeschooling three kids, but I am going to try. I would LOVE some suggestions for must-read books. At some point this year I am going to read Pride and Prejudice. I’ve tried several times and I can never get beyond chapter three. I want to read it with my sister who also has the “reading more” resolution, but she doesn’t want to start with a tough book. So I think my first book will be one I received for Christmas called Rhett Butler’s People. I loved Gone with the Wind, but I hated the sequel. I am hopeful that this one will be better.
  2. Eat fewer processed foods. As the primary grocery-shopper and cook for my family, I have felt a huge burden lately to keep a much processed food out of our diets as possible. I’m trying to eliminate prepackaged meals, significantly reduce processed meats, and eat as much REAL food as possible. I have a whole blog coming soon on this subject…so stay tuned.
  3. Finish decorating one room per month. We finally painted our last room a few months ago (only 2 1/2 years after we moved in!). But every room in the house is only half decorated. There isn’t much on the walls, except for a few out of date family photos. When I really sit and think about it, there isn’t a single room in the house that I would call finished. This one will be fun!
  4. Fill my photo albums. Several years ago my mother gave me a really nice set of photo albums, but living in the digital age, I’ve never but a single picture in them.
  5. Find time for creative arts. This one is a little ambiguous for now. I need to get to #6 before I know exactly how much time I’ll be able to devote to this. When I was in high school I was really passionate about drawing and painting, and I would love to get back into it. Last year my husband gave me an easel and a ton of art supplies and I haven’t even opened them. I can’t wait to finally enjoy that wonderful gift.
  6. Make (and stick to) a schedule for our family. While I understand the need for flexibility and spontaneity, I do believe it is important to organize our time for the sake of peace and order in our home. So often I waste the free time that I have available simply because there are too many options for what I could do with the time. And it is important for the kids as well. The more time the boys have to just play freely, the more they argue and fight with each other and the more they complain about household chores. We were all on a great schedule for several months before the baby was born, but since then I haven’t been able to get it back. If I am going to accomplish half of my resolution list, I NEED a schedule.

I am excited about these resolutions. I am even more excited at the possibility of looking back next year and seeing a few of these accomplished. Maybe having a permanent record of them on my blog will make it easier to stick with them.

 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Leave a Reply

