Skip to content

ready, set, vacuum!

January 8, 2008
tags: , ,

Vacuuming is one of the few household chores that I actually enjoy, though I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s because the roar of the vacuum drowns out everything but my own thoughts. It’s almost like a mini vacation – almost…

At our house, vacuuming could probably be considered an Olympic sport. For some reason, the baby really likes the vacuum. He’s drawn to it like a magnet. As soon as I pull it out of the closet, he crawls as fast as he can toward me and begins to climb the vacuum. I pull him aside, then start off vacuuming away from him. He races toward me again, so I quickly vacuum around him in a different direction. Each time I go a different direction, the baby promptly follows. Our dog is terrified of the vacuum, but for some reason she feels like she must protect the baby from the horrible machine. So while I’m trying to vacuum away from the baby, she’s running circles around me and the baby and the vacuum. We continue in this fashion until I finish the downstairs.

 At this point, I holler up the stairs to let the boys know I’ll be vacuuming in their room shortly and that they need to pick up all their toys. They scream “Mom’s coming!!!” and I hear a thundering crash followed by a lot of giggling. I begin vacuuming the stairs, and every few minutes a child peeks out of the bedroom upstairs to check on my progress, and another scream follows. “She’s on the third step!!!” We continue this way until the last scream… “She’s at the top!!!” They hurriedly toss all their toys into whatever container is available and then jump on their beds. Inevitably, they spy a toy or two left behind in the path of the vacuum. Then it becomes a race to see who can rescue the toy from voracious beast.

If all chores were this much fun, I’d probably clean more often 😉

One Comment leave one →
  1. heiditheophilus permalink
    January 10, 2008 7:13 am

    That is hilarious…I am totally visualizing this “sport” and how it plays out in your home 🙂

Leave a Reply

