Skip to content

pondering silverware

January 11, 2008

I decided to count my silverware this morning. We’ve been using the silverware we got as a wedding gift for almost nine years, and lately it seems like we’re always short of something. The set originally had eight each of knives, forks, salad forks, spoons and soup spoons. I counted all the silverware I could find – dirty, clean, and in the dishwasher. The totals surprised me a bit. There were 4 soup spoons (the one we use the least), 7 each of regular spoons, forks, and salad forks, and 9 knives. Now, I can understand how this would happen in many homes, but we are not a family that uses silverware for other purposes. I don’t do it, my husband swears he doesn’t do it, and I don’t think the kids are old enough to think of it. So, after some pondering, I came to this conclusion – one of the forks jumped to its neighbor’s home in the tray and decided to become a knife.  All the rest of the missing silverware have turned into corn holders.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 12, 2008 1:33 pm

    LOL 🙂 I say that’s a GREAT excuse to go shopping for fancy new silverware…at least that’s the way I would justify it 😉

Leave a Reply

