Skip to content

writer's block

January 22, 2008

I don’t know what is wrong with me lately. I just can’t seem to come up with anything worth blogging about. A few days ago I wrote a nice long post about the world’s perspective about Christians. But when it came time for an ending, I was drawing a blank. So, it sits in my pile of saved posts with several others, waiting for the inspiration to finish it. This morning I started to post a recipe for Shrimp & Grits, but I don’t have a picture of that dish yet, so it was added to the saved posts pile as well. Maybe it is the weather, maybe it is all the little things nagging at me, begging for a few minutes of my time, but whatever the reason, I just can’t seem to muster up a worthy blog.

So today I’m simply going to post a verse that I read a few weeks ago. It was very meaningful to me at the time, and its meaning grows more and more as the election draws near. So often I feel like we are surrounded by enemies who can’t possibly understand why we are the way we are. This verse is a comfort.

You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world. They are from the world and therefore speak from the viewpoint of the world, and the world listens to them. We are from God, and whoever knows God listens to us; but whoever is not from God does not listen to us. This is how we recognize the Spirit of truth and the spirit of falsehood. 1 John 4:4-6

3 Comments leave one →
  1. brumbemom permalink
    January 22, 2008 6:17 pm

    Thank you for the verse. Sometimes I forget that whatever battle I am in has already been won for me. I just need to follow the Leader.
    Sometimes the Best posts are those that are simply the words of God.

  2. heiditheophilus permalink
    January 22, 2008 10:00 pm

    I go through blogging spurts where I have so much to say and then nothing. Before I started this blog, it had been since 2006 that I really blogged consistenly. I gotcha 😉

  3. January 23, 2008 10:23 pm

    Great verse, I love the things that simmer, they usually end up blossoming into something much more inspired than I could have come up with on my own. Enjoy the peace, the trickle will burst into a river soon! And thank you again for the verse. That particular one always gets me pondering too… Hannah

Leave a Reply

