Skip to content

she's eating us out of house and home! (literally)

January 24, 2008
tags: , ,

Okay, I’ve heard of dogs chewing on things, but this is getting ridiculous. Amber doesn’t chew things, she EATS things. I mentioned in another post that she eats Q-tips. We’ve almost cured her of that by putting mouse traps in all the bathroom trash cans. But she’s moved on to bigger and better things. Most of the time she swallows whatever it is whole before you can get it away from her. Her favorite snacks are crayons. Anytime the boys leave crayons out on their desks she’ll sneak in and steal them. She’s probably eaten close to two 24 count boxes of crayons in the last several months. I’d be willing to bet she has the most colorful poop in all of Paulding County.

Her other favorite snack is paper. Any kind of paper may as well be a steak dinner. She steals trash, paper towels, and baby wipes. Yes, baby wipes. She’ll eat them right out of the container if I leave it open. Every time I change the baby’s diaper, she comes running like a cat to a can of tuna. Then she sits there, just waiting for me to look away for a second so she can grab a wipe and run.

Of course, it doesn’t end at disposable, easily replaceable items. No, she has eaten the knobs off of our kitchen island, pillows, and the corner of one of the curtains in the boys’ room. That one is pretty funny. I noticed her chewing the curtain one day, so I tied it up. There are three other curtains in the room, all just as accessible as the one she chewed, but she doesn’t touch them. But if I ever let that one curtain down, she immediately wants to chew on it. I even put that bitter spray on it to deter her, but alas, she is undeterred. 😦

Probably the most memorable thing she ever ate was her own leash – while she was wearing it! I don’t remember all the details, but something made me pretty mad at her and I locked her in her kennel while she was still wearing her leash. I went back to let her out about 20 minutes later, but when I went to grab the leash, I couldn’t find it. Then I realized that she had swallowed the entire 6 foot leash, with the collar still attached to her neck. Of course these things NEVER happen on the weekend when my husband is around, so I was the blessed soul that got to pull it out.

When we got her the breeder sent us home with a packet of information on what to expect with our new puppy. I was prepared for all of it. But I don’t think eating baby wipes and crayons was on the list!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2008 7:15 pm

    You never mentioned the vet bills. I can’t believe your puppy ate all those things and has not got sick. You have a “Super Puppy”. 🙂

  2. scrabblenut permalink*
    January 25, 2008 11:17 am

    Miraculously she’s never had to go to the vet for anything other than routine check ups. There have been many times though that we’re just waiting to see if what she’s eaten will come out the other end! 🙂

  3. January 25, 2008 12:55 pm

    with all due respect, it sounds like she needs some regular daily exercise and stimulation. Several walks a day is not unusual for a pup and necessary. Adding some real food as well to the commercial food will satisfy her better as well. That should help.

    Diane

  4. scrabblenut permalink*
    January 25, 2008 1:35 pm

    Thanks for your opinion. While I agree that it is possible she needs some mental stimulation, I doubt that the problem is exercise or food related. She has free reign of a very large yard and plenty of birds and squirrels to chase. She spends a large part of the day rowdying and racing around the house with the boys, and while she is eating commercial food, it is one of the top rated high-quality foods. There shouldn’t be anything missing from her diet.

  5. January 25, 2008 4:14 pm

    i had a dog that used to eat the, uh um, well, crotch out of my underwear.

    i had another dog that would eat kitchen towels. one time chester at a kitchen towel and passed it out the other end with the sounds of excuciating pain eminating from his throaty howl. it served him right!

    all that to say, GOOD LUCK! 😉

  6. January 29, 2008 5:21 pm

    This is SO funny! I’m sorry, I know it must be driving you crazy, but oh my goodness, I can’t stop laughing! Pulling the leash back out, so gross, so funny… Good luck, and thanks for making me laugh! That is one funny dog! H

  7. Amy Huff permalink
    July 5, 2008 8:48 pm

    Hi, I just had to reply because I realize that your Amber is from a Bailey and Cheyanne litter from the same kennel we got our puppy Juno in May 2008.

    It’s crazy because I found this post during a search for “dog eats baby wipes”. Juno has been having the worst intestinal problems the past few days, and we just discovered she has been passing some baby wipes. I’m hoping she will get back to normal soon.

    Must be in the genes in this goldendoodle family to be addicted to eating baby wipes!

    Amy Huff
    Atlanta, GA

  8. scrabblenut permalink*
    July 6, 2008 8:10 am

    That is hillarious. I mean, not that your dog is having intestinal problems, but that our dogs are related. Maybe we should warn all the other prospective buyers of puppies from Bar C Kennels. 🙂 How on earth did you figure that out?

    All I can say to encourage you is that it does seem to be primarily a puppy issue. She has gotten so much better in the last few months. She still eats things she shouldn’t, but not nearly as often as before.

    One thing that has worked really well was to lay out a baby wipe or two on the floor and then watch her. As soon as she goes toward it, scold her a bit. One thing I have found is that she really loves to please people, and once she realizes that she isn’t supposed to do something, she usually quits.

    Just hang in there. Be prepared for the next few months to be very difficult. After that it just gets better and better.

  9. Amy Huff permalink
    July 6, 2008 8:53 pm

    Well, quite the coincidence really – I googled “dog eats baby wipes” and this blog came up. As I was reading, the name Amber stuck out because it’s an unusual name for a dog (really pretty) but I knew one of the previous litters had a family that named their dog Amber from the webpage for Bar C. Then the picture of your family matched the pic of the family on Bar C’s Cheyanne’s page :).

    Small world! We’re so happy we got Juno, she is the sweetest girl – 13 weeks old now. The eating everything that isn’t nailed down is my only complaint – and with two small kids, it’s hard to keep toys off the floor (and now she can reach the kitchen table too). The other day Juno had some lovely bright pink in her poop – thought she’d eaten some bubble gum. But no, it was a perfectly formed barbie shoe.

    Thanks for the response!

  10. scrabblenut permalink*
    July 7, 2008 7:43 am

    LOL. We were worried about toys too. We got her less than 6 months after our 3rd son was born, so his blankets, pacifiers and stuffed things were always laying around the house. We kept her on the leash around him for a few weeks, and every time she went near the baby or his toys we would tell her “leave it”. (That was one of the few useful commands that we got out of the PetSmart puppy training). It really worked well. She doesn’t bother his toys at all. The older boys Tinker Toys are another story. 🙂

  11. Elizabeth Burton permalink
    January 3, 2009 9:30 pm

    I have a golden who is 8 weeks he just ate a whole wipe… do you I need to take him to the vet? Or the emergency vet?

  12. Lisa permalink
    March 25, 2009 10:13 am

    Hi,

    Overall, are you guys happy with the dogs you’ve gotten from Bar C Kennels? We are planning to get a 13 month old male standard poodle that the owner gave back (scary) supposedly because he was moving into an apartment and couldn’t keep him. The dog is from a Bailey/Jazz litter. Any thoughts or comments are appreciated!

    Thanks,

    Lisa

  13. May 20, 2009 6:31 pm

    Good info=D i will come back soon.

Leave a Reply

