Skip to content

a meatloaf challenge

January 30, 2008
tags: ,

Some of you may be a little surprised to hear this, but I can’t make meatloaf to save my life. For some reason, meatloaf is one culinary feat that I just cannot master. No, master is the wrong word, because that implies that I have some level of meatloaf competency. I really don’t. My mom makes a decent meatloaf, so I’ve always tried to make mine like hers. But of course, she doesn’t have a recipe. My meatloaf is almost always a little on the soggy side and it falls apart instead of cutting into nice neat slices. Sometimes the taste is okay, sometimes not. Unfortunately, meatloaf is one of my husband’s favorite meals, so despite all my failures, I must keep trying.

Herein lies the challenge. I am asking for anyone who thinks they make a good meatloaf to please send me your recipes. My whole family will be eternally grateful to anyone who can save us from future meatloaf disasters. 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. akentuckycreation permalink
    January 30, 2008 11:59 am

    I found your site when it popped up on my tag surfer. If you want to visit my blog I have a recipe there for meatloaf. You can make it in the oven or microwave. One trick I use is to bake the meatloaf on a surface that will allow some of the fat/moisture to drip away. If you let the meatloaf “cool” it will probably slice better for you. I hope you succeed with your quest for a good meatloaf recipe. My blog is: http://akentuckycreation.wordpress.com
    Lee

  2. January 31, 2008 7:59 am

    A#1 – Dawn Blount has a great meatloaf recipe…ask her Sun if she’ll e-mail it to you OR call her. She’d be happy to give it to you!

    A#2 – Have you checked http://www.foodnetwork.com? I’ve been known to cook with my laptop on the kitchen counter w/that website pulled up 🙂

  3. Lora permalink
    February 1, 2008 2:46 pm

    My meatloaf usually consists of 1lb ground sirloin, 1lb ground Tyson pork. A package of onion soup mix, 2 eggs, stove top stuffing mix or lots of bread crumbs, ketchup, garlic and some shredded cheese depending on what kind of mood I’m in. Of course, take your rings off and get messy, used sliced white bread to line the bottom of your loaf pan. Bake for an hour in a 350 oven. Of course, all ingredients can be mixed up and changed to suit your needs and tastes. Have fun experimenting!

Leave a Reply

