Skip to content

ice cream in a bag

February 5, 2008

We made a fabulous discovery via my oldest son’s schoolwork the other day. He was learning about following directions, and his assignment was to make ice cream in a ziploc bag. The kids loved the result of this little project, and I thought it was one of the best kid-friendly recipes I had ever seen. I hope you give it a try with your kids.

You’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 pint-sized ziploc bag
  • 1 gallon-sized ziploc bag
  • ice
  • 6 tbsp. salt
  • a hand towel

Step 1: Mix the milk, vanilla, and sugar in the smaller bag and seal it.

Step 2: Fill the larger bag half full of ice. Add the salt and the small bag. Seal the big bag.

Step 3: Wrap the big bag in a towel. Shake it for 5 minutes.

Step 4: Take out the little bag and wipe it off with the towel. Eat the ice cream.

This makes enough for one child. We doubled the recipe and used a quart-sized bag instead of the pint-sized one. It worked perfectly. You could probably fit enough for three kids into the quart-size bag, but for more than that I would use more than one bag. I was also told you could accomplish the same thing with two coffee cans, one small and one large. If I had known about this when I was a kid, I would have made ice cream every day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Paula permalink
    February 11, 2009 12:09 pm

    This sounds really good. I wonder if my great grandson (3) it too young to do it with a little help.
    Love Love your pictures of Utah. I had a chance to go to Salt Lake City in the early 90’s and really loved it. Stayed in Ogden and saw the Bonneville Salt flats. And was amazed at how they had positioned the rocks all along the road. Anyway, had a great time there.
    I got in looking for a good recipe (not butter cream) that was good to use for piping on a cake. I have a mold for a car. My great grandsons loves cars.

    Thanks Paula

Leave a Reply

