Skip to content

the strike is spreading

February 7, 2008
tags: ,

Kim and Kerri have both blogged about their appliance woes, so I thought I would share mine as well. Though none of them have officially died yet, I fear the time may be coming soon. I am afraid to even write about it, as if speaking the words will make it happen.

For some time now my microwave has been acting up. It is only three years old, but it has been a lemon from the very beginning. While it was still under warranty we had trouble with the turntable. It made awful noises and turned sporadically. The repairman fixed it in about 10 minutes by replacing one very small plastic part, and was sure to let us know that, had it not been under warranty, the repair would have cost nearly $300. Shortly after the warranty expired, new strange noises started emerging from the microwave. Now, about half the time I put something in to cook, the microwave starts, it makes its usual humming sound, the turntable goes round and round, and then it beeps as it should. But when I take the food out, it is as cold as it was when I put it in. I’ve learned to listen for a little clicking sound that it makes to let me know that it isn’t going to cook anything, like back talk from a 3 year old child. If I hear the click, I know I need to slam the door a few times to beat it into submission 😉 .

Our washer is another story. It has been a faithful appliance for 9 years. I know its demise is coming at some point, and it will be forgiven when the time comes. The last couple weeks, I’ll put a load of laundry in and go about my business. But when I return to transfer the load to the dryer, it is just sitting there full of water, as if I had left the lid open. If I lift and drop the lid, usually it will continue its cycle. It reminds me of an old man who falls asleep in the middle of a game of cards, he just needs a little nudge to get him going again.

Now that I see it all in writing, I realize there are striking similarities between the two appliance issues. Maybe they have been talking.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    February 7, 2008 8:54 pm

    Do you think there is an appliance conspiracy going on in the neighborhood. I think they might all be talking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

