Skip to content

the heart of a boy

February 12, 2008

This morning my 6 year-old son returned from taking something out to the trash with a very disheartened look on his face.

“Mom,” he says, “I have something to tell you, and it is not good news.”

I take a deep breath, close my eyes and brace myself. I can only imagine what he saw on his way to the trash can that could have upset him so much. As calmly as I can, I say, “what is it, sweetie?”

He responds, “the driveway is covered with dead animals!”

My mind immediately conjures an array of horrid images… roadkill, perhaps? No, he said “animals” plural. A West Nile epidemic? A mass squirrel suicide?

“What?!? What do you mean the driveway is covered in dead animals?”

He responds sadly, “on my way to the trash can I saw an ant, a worm, and a flying ant – all dead.”

I breathe a sigh of relief… “I’m sorry to hear that sweetie.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2008 4:35 pm

    If only the entire world thought like ur lil boy 🙂
    sweet story.

  2. February 12, 2008 6:21 pm

    LOL — that’s too cute! 🙂

    ~Kelsey

    http://setapart.wordpress.com

  3. February 15, 2008 4:02 pm

    Funny isn’t it, how we don’t count bugs as “animals”? In fact, I don’t think I’d have thought of birds, even.

Leave a Reply

