Skip to content

coincidence?

March 4, 2008
tags: , ,

Just after 7:30 this morning my children and I found ourselves praying for some lady we had never even seen. My husband called me from the side of the highway to let me know he was assisting people in an accident that he had just witnessed. He was driving right behind another car when it hit a pocket of water and the driver lost control. Her car flipped and caused a four car pile-up. How he managed to maintain control of his car through all that, I’ll never understand. But somehow he managed to avoid the accident, get his emotions under control, and offer a calm reassurance to some very scared people this morning. A little later I began to think about all the little insignificant decisions that resulted in him being in that exact spot at that exact time. Yesterday he had worked an extra long day, so this morning he had set the alarm for an hour later than usual. Then he slept in for an extra 10 minutes after the alarm went off, something that is completely out of character for him. If he had gone to work on time today, he would have been nowhere near that accident when it happened. If he had left one minute sooner, if he had changed lanes at the wrong time, if any of a million things had gone slightly differently, it could have been him in that accident.

Several times in the last couple months, I’ve encountered questions about the existence of God. In my own life there have been so many examples of the hand of God, His existence to me is undeniable. There are so many “coincidences” that just cannot be explained – the way I met my husband, the series of events that led us to our current home and church, and countless near misses and close calls that should have ended in disaster. Aside from my own personal experiences, there is physical evidence everywhere I look. Is it coincidence that the roots of a tree operate exactly like the human circulatory system? Is it coincidence that the model of a single atom shares the same basic structure as the solar system? Everywhere around me I see evidence that points to a Creator.

Sadly, though, it isn’t enough for everyone. Some people say they need proof – proof that doesn’t come from the Bible and isn’t supernatural. But I don’t think that any amount of proof would ever be good enough. God could step right out of heaven and look them straight in the eye and it wouldn’t be enough. I was asking myself this morning why something that is so plain and obvious to so many people is misunderstood by so many others. I came across the answer to my question in 2 Corinthians 4:4 –

The god of this age has blinded the minds of unbelievers, so that they cannot see the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.

I don’t believe in coincidence. I believe that everything happens for a reason and that God is directly involved in our daily lives. But I can also see that there are other powers working very hard to ensure that unbelievers and skeptics stay just the way they are.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

