Skip to content

to my homeschooling friends

March 7, 2008

Please check out this post about the homeschool ban in California, and an article about the court’s decision.

Many of you have a great deal more experience in the homeschool arena than I do, and I would love to hear your opinions on the matter, particularly on some of the comments to the post.

It greatly disturbs me that anyone would make the blanket statement that “homeschooling sacrifices the education and general well-being of the child.” I’m sure there are some parents who are not cut out for home-schooling, just as there are many parents who are not particularly fit to be parents. But the VAST majority of homeschooled children and teenagers that I know are very well adjusted, very polite and respectful to adults, and socially more mature than their public-schooled peers.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion. But when your opinion gets in the way of my right to raise my children, I have to draw the line. If homeschooled children are suffering-fine, deal with it on a case-by-case basis. But to eliminate an option that for many children is a superior education, for children who are excelling in that environment is a complete disgrace. The day that the government decides that it knows better than I do what is best for my children is the day that I know America is not the land of the free.

I think the most infuriating thing of all is the last statement in the newspaper article. A representative for the case said “her organization’s chief concern was not the quality of the children’s education, but their ‘being in a place daily where they would be observed by people who had a duty to ensure their ongoing safety’.” Isn’t that pretty much the definition of a home?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrick DePriest permalink
    March 7, 2008 8:32 pm

    I can understand where the law-makers are coming from, but I disagree with their actions. I know five homeschool families. Three families do it for educational reasons, and their kids are actually above their peers. The other two families do it for religious reasons, and these kids are severely behind. And it kind of makes me sick because some of them are behind two or three grades.
    We live in Texas where there is no oversight or regulation of homeschooling. And I think that is all that is needed. There just needs to be some reliable regulation to ensure that the kids are receiving the necessary education.

  2. March 7, 2008 9:00 pm

    Well stated! I don’t know anything about Texas, except that I have heard over and over again that they have VERY good schools, so I am surprised that there isn’t oversight or regulation for home schooling. I know that in my state there is, though it is more relaxed than several other states. I agree with Patrick on that, for sure!

    Ya, I thought that was what parents were for, too. Daily ensuring ongoing safety… that’s a great definition for Mom! H

  3. mommy2myblessings permalink
    March 7, 2008 10:50 pm

    I am a second generation homeschooler. My parents were some of the pioneers who made the freedom to homeschool a reality, so this is a big deal to me. I posted about this matter as well.

    You can read my entry here:
    http://www.thefullquiverhomeschoolhouse.wordpress.com

  4. r2streu permalink
    March 8, 2008 7:54 am

    I recently posted on this subject… the only reason I bring this up is because of the fact that I also linked to several sites where actual research on the subject may be found.

    Not only is “education and general well-being” specifically -not- being sacrificed, but on average, homeschooled children perform as well or better on standardized tests, and studies show them to be just as well, or even better, adjusted socially than public school students.

    The Cali legislature and the courts don’t give two farts about the facts of the matter. This is a power move.

    http://independentthinking.wordpress.com

  5. Kim permalink
    March 8, 2008 9:05 am

    I guess in essence, the court is saying that the majority of home school parents whom I would assume were mostly public educated themselves are not intelligent enough to educate their own children. Therefore, the parents must send their children through the same system that did not equip them to have enough intelligence to educate their own.

  6. scrabblenut permalink*
    March 8, 2008 9:32 am

    Interesting perspective, Kim.

  7. brumbemom permalink
    March 8, 2008 10:28 am

    In watching the presidential debates, I keep hearing more and more about improving the school system. If it is in such a dismal , overcrowded state, why then would you want to force even more and more children to be involved in it. When the alternative is to have them in a loving, less crowded, safe, one-on-one tutoring environment. 😦

Leave a Reply

