Skip to content

10 things I wish I knew before I had kids

April 7, 2008

10. Sam’s brand diapers and wipes are GREAT and CHEAP.  A one month supply of diapers is $30.  A 6-9 month supply of wipes is $14.

9. A child’s behavior (even a very young child) will let you know how sick they really are. When my first child was about 13 months old, he suddenly developed a very high fever of 104+. He had no other symptoms at all. He behaved normally, he ate normally, and he slept normally, but that high fever scared me to death. We spent close to $200 in copays taking him to various doctors and ERs, and put him through blood tests, catheters, and misery trying to discover the cause of the fever. But the only thing anyone could tell me was “it’s probably a virus”. At the end of the week, his fever disappeared and he developed a rash all over his chest. We took him back to the ER again, and the doctor took one look at him and said, “it’s Roseola, and the rash means it is over.” So, when child #3 had a similar fever and no other symptoms, I decided to wait a few days before rushing him to the doctor. Sure enough, 5 days later, his fever was gone and he had the same tell-tale rash on his chest. I wish I had known with the first child that his behavior was a much better indicator of his condition than the fever.

8. When a child falls or injures himself, let him react BEFORE you react. Most of the time he’ll just brush it off and go about his business. If you gasp and immediately run to his aid, he’ll learn that every minor injury needs attention and drama.  

7. Potty training begins the first time your child wears a diaper. As quickly as babies go through diapers, it is tempting to put off changing them when they are “just wet”. But even if the diaper doesn’t seem full, it still feels moist to the childs skin. If you change wet diapers immediately, the child never gets used to that wet feeling, and potty training is much easier down the road.

6. A bag of frozen veggies makes a great ice pack.

5. The size of the baby does not necessarily dictate the ease of the birth. I always assumed that small babies were delivered with less pain than large babies. In my case, my smallest child (6 lb. 4 oz.) was my longest and most painful labor, and my biggest child (8 lb. 2 oz.) was my easiest and fastest.

4. Toddlerhood is adolescence on a smaller scale. Just like adolescence is the transition from child to adult, toddlerhood is the transition from baby to child. They are entering a new phase in life and developing opinions and independence. They have to learn the boundaries that define their independence. Once they learn those boundaries, they can enter childhood smoothly. If they don’t learn and accept those boundaries, it may never end 🙂

3. Just because your child is a good eater at 9 months doesn’t mean he will not become picky later. And just because he is picky at two does not mean he will never eat well.

2. It is not your job to make your child eat. Our third (and best) pediatrician gave me this advice. She said, ‘it is your responsibilty to provide your child with a variety of nutritious foods. It is HIS responsibility to eat it.”

1. Just because a baby sleeps through the night at an early age, doesn’t mean he will always be a good sleeper. This one really took me by surprise. My first child was sleeping through the night at 3 weeks. I assumed that sleep would never be an issue for us. WRONG. Suddenly at about 6 months he started waking up every 2 hours again. I have yet to meet a baby that did not go through a “not sleeping phase” at some point.  

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    April 8, 2008 9:58 pm

    I love the Sam’s diapers too!

  2. April 9, 2008 8:14 am

    Amazing! You just distilled parenting into ten simple points. So what takes up the rest of the space in all those books? 😉

    Seriously, these are dead on, and every new parent should have them stenciled onto their brain.

  3. April 10, 2008 11:13 pm

    Great post! I am taking notes : ) I know I will have a hard time with #8!

  4. scrabblenut permalink*
    April 11, 2008 11:57 am

    #8 was hard for us too. We’re still suffering the consequences from that one with Harrison to this day! He is SOOO dramatic when he gets hurt. Both Sawyer and Grant are tough as nails.

  5. Momof3 permalink
    June 27, 2008 8:09 am

    I love these 10 things! Every mother should read this! I completely agree with all of them, especially number 5! My third child was my heaviest and he was the easiest! He weighed 9 lbs 5 ozs but he was still the easiest! My first and smallest daughter was hard! I went through 28 hours of labor with her! My 2nd daughter (weighing 7lbs ) I was in labor about 5 hours. I was only in labor with my son for 2 hours and he weighed the most. The Dr. said if I had another child I might not make it to the hospital in time! I told him, no thank you, I am stopping now!

  6. scrabblenut permalink*
    June 27, 2008 8:17 am

    My doctor said the same thing to me after baby #2 (90 minute labor), so with # 3, I had the instructions for how to deliver a baby at home posted on my refrigerator. Thankfully, we didn’t need them. 😉

Leave a Reply

