Skip to content

one more thing

April 11, 2008

Okay, I’ve been thinking about my last ’10 things’ post all week. While it is very true that each one of those things would have been very helpful when we were struggling our way through the first years of parenthood, the biggest lesson I’ve learned somehow didn’t make it to the list.

All children are DIFFERENT!

It seems like a no-brainer. But I am continually surprised at how certain things that work with one child don’t work with the next. It doesn’t matter how much they look alike, each one of my children is drastically different on the inside.

Discipline is a perfect example. My oldest is pretty typical in his response to discipline, but his younger brother has been a challenge from day one. Everything that I would consider “conventional” discipline has little or no effect on him.  If I spank him, he says “well, that didn’t really hurt anyway.” Once he even asked for a spanking. He said he just felt like it! Of course I didn’t oblige him. 🙂 If I send him to bed to think about his attitude, he says “well, that’s okay because I really need a rest anyway.” If I take away a toy he says, “well, I didn’t really like that toy anyway.” Just about the only thing that is really meaningful to him is physical labor. He HATES to work. So when I need some good discipline for him, that is where I turn.

So, I guess what I’m saying is that I do believe there are a few guidelines to go by that should work for all kids, and many of them are on that list. But you need to be prepared for the child that breaks all the rules.

Happy Parenting!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lora permalink
    April 12, 2008 9:28 pm

    My oldest daughter was that way. She loved to stay home, so grounding never worked. She never talked on the phone, didn’t care about television or video games. The only thing she really had a passion for was reading. Hmm, can’t really take books away, now can I? Yardwork was the “magic button”! It took me a long time to figure that out, too! Finally, the most painful thing (to her) that I would make her do was to pick up pine cones in the yard. Our yard was one acre with about 6 extremely large pine trees and an endless supply of pine cones. Thankfully, you can never pick up ALL the pine cones because as soon as you pick them up, there’s millions on the ground again within days! She’s 25 now. She still talks about how horrible that was.

  2. heiditheophilus permalink
    April 13, 2008 2:52 pm

    I want to know the magic trick that you use that gets your baby to be able to say people’s names, identify ZEBRAS and apples, and wink and make funny faces while he’s in the nursery!?! That kid is already brilliant!!!!!!!!!!! Not to mention, he’s already quite the lady’s man…well, at least all of us in the nursery are quite smitten with him! 😉

Leave a Reply

