Skip to content

i love spring

April 18, 2008
tags: ,

I absolutely love this time of year. If I had it my way spring would carry on for about five months, followed by one month of summer, five months of fall, and one month of winter. I guess in reality, we aren’t too far from that ideal here in the south. I don’t really even know where I’m going with this. I was just sitting here listening to the birds chirping outside my window and admiring all the bright new growth on the trees and just thinking about how awesome God is. The changing of the seasons to me is such an incredible display of God’s majesty, and such an incredible parallel to our lives. Some winters are longer than others, but spring always comes.

Spring has made its home on our front porch this year. A pair of house finches chose the corner near our front door to make their nest. I don’t blame them. I think this is a pretty great place to live too. 😉 When they first started trying to build the nest, I didn’t think it would work out. There is quite a bit of traffic in and out of our door, so I was really surprised they decided to stick it out. It took them about a day to construct a scraggly little nest out of dried grass. I’m guessing they were amateurs because the nest kept falling apart on the side that was unsupported. My husband took a small scrap of wood and placed it under the weak side of the nest for support, figuring that the birds would probably give up at the sign of human intervention. But those little finches gladly accepted his help.

Since then, every time we open the door we hear the fluttering of wings as the birds scatter to escape our interruption. But for the last week or so, I was surprised to see only the male bird flitting about.  I wondered what had become of our little mama. Apparently she had been very cozily tucked inside her nest tending three tiny eggs, undeterred by the coming and going of people. Yesterday we discovered three fragile little fuzzballs huddled together in their tattered little home. I couldn’t believe how quickly it all happened. It was probably no more than two weeks ago that they began their nest-building and now there are three tiny new birds preparing to head out into the world.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. umimei permalink
    April 18, 2008 8:09 am

    I don’t know how the spring ‘taste’ because I live at tropical climate area. But, someday I want to feel the taste from spring, autumn, snow … and know about many things that never I seen before. Sorry, my English not well. But I like your written, until I can feel that I was there before…

  2. Kerri permalink
    April 19, 2008 9:28 am

    Yes, that would be my ideal year as well. Long springs and fall with just enough summer and winter to make you appreciate the other two!

Trackbacks

  1. Building the Nest | Habits for a Happy Home

Leave a Reply

