Skip to content

some new plants and a helicopter ride

April 23, 2008

Busy, busy, busy. Wow what a week. Last spring we spent several weeks removing areas of lawn to make room for new landscaping. We never got around to planting anything because of the drought. So for a year we’ve had these barren areas of our yard with nothing but pinestraw and weeds. Well they’ve finally begun to lift a few of the drought restrictions so we decided to dive headfirst into the planting. I spent most of the last two weeks in the planning phase, then finally Thursday we were able to go buy the plants. We spent every spare minute of the weekend and all day Monday planting. There is still quite a bit of work to be done, but we made some significant progress.

Friday and Saturday night we spent celebrating my 29th birthday. Friday night we went out to dinner with my family. Then Saturday night Eric had a big surprise for me. He told me a month ago that he wanted to celebrate my last “young” birthday doing something I would never forget. Well, he took me and the kids and my mother for a helicopter ride around Atlanta. I was definitely surprised, although I have to admit that I was a little suspicious when my entire family began oohing and aahing at a helicopter that flew by as we were on our way to the surprise. 🙂 It really was awesome, and not nearly as scary as I thought. My five year old was absolutely terrified when we he climbed into his seat, but once we were in the air, he decided it wasn’t scary at all. In fact, he very promptly announced that he wanted to go on a helicopter ride for his birthday too! 🙂

All that busyness and now it is time to get back to routine and reality. It is fun when our lives are full of activity, but when it carries on for too long I begin to miss the days where I have nothing to do but laundry.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2008 9:26 pm

    You’re lucky that I didn’t know that tonight at dinner or we would have had to embarrass you 🙂
    Happy belated Birthday! Sounds like it was great.

  2. scrabblenut permalink*
    April 24, 2008 8:08 am

    Thanks. It was great. Normally my birthday comes and goes fairly uneventfully, but for some reason this year was extra special. 🙂

Leave a Reply

