Skip to content

disconnected

May 6, 2008
tags:

I have been without phone or internet for the last 3 days, a side-effect of my recent landscaping projects. Friday afternoon I cut the phone line when I was digging a flower bed. Yay. Ironically, I uncovered some plastic tape warning that there was a line buried, but it was about 2 feet away from where I hit the line. Oh well. It was a very, very long weekend without my connections to the world. The repair man finally came Monday afternoon, and he was as pleasant as can be. I half expected him to scold me for my carelessness, but he didn’t. I was relieved to see his smiling face because I HATE to be in trouble.

I’ve always been that way. I was always the “good one” at home and “the teacher’s pet” at school. I can count on one hand the times I’ve been scolded by someone, and each incident stands out in my mind like it was yesterday. I can remember in 5th grade, one of my favorite teachers, Mrs. Robichaux, asked me to stay after class to clean erasers. I loved to help out, so I was thrilled to have the job. Well I picked up all the erasers and began to bang them together 2 by two, creating a cloud of chalk dust that filled the room. Mrs. Robichaux gave me a very stern look and said, “what do you think you are doing?” Apparently cleaning erasers was a job to be done outside. I didn’t know. I nearly burst into tears.

What does cleaning erasers have to do with anything? Absolutely nothing.  I’m just glad to be connected to the world again, where I can spill my childhood memories to anyone who cares to read them. 🙂

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. kermooch permalink
    May 6, 2008 10:04 pm

    I was wondering. You’ve been missed 🙂

    (I also HATE to be in trouble!)

Leave a Reply

