Skip to content

shrimp and grits

May 27, 2008
tags: ,

One of my passions is definitely cooking, so the first phase of my blog revitalization project is to post a new recipe each week. I have added a new page for easy access to all my recipes, entitled from my kitchen. Here, the recipes will be organized more like a cookbook.

And now, I will start with this recipe for Shrimp and Grits. Hands down, this recipe wins as the favorite of all my recipes. Drumroll please….

I’m not from the South originally, but I love southern food. One day my husband came home from a trip to Charleston and told me about this incredible dish he had at a restaurant there, Shrimp and Grits. My first thought was, “GRITS? For dinner?”  But he insisted that I try to recreate it. The smoky and slightly spicy version that I came up with is really not very much like the one my husband had, but it has become one of our favorite dishes. It isn’t very figure friendly, so we don’t have it more than once a month. But it is SOOO worth every calorie! It is really great for a special dinner when you really want to WOW someones taste buds. This recipe makes 4 servings.

  • 1 lb. small-med size shrimp, shelled & deveined
  • Cajun seasoning to taste
  • 6 slices bacon, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 green or red bell pepper, diced (I like to use a little of both)
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 c. cream

Coat the raw shrimp with cajun seasoning, set aside.

Cook bacon in a large skillet over medium heat until crisp. Drain the bacon pieces on paper towels, and set aside, leaving 2-3 tablespoons of the fat in the pan. Add the onions and peppers to the pan and saute until soft. Stir in the cream and simmer over low heat, uncovered, for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Meanwhile, prepare the grits. (My recipe follows). When the sauce has reduced by about half. Stir in the shrimp and cook 3-5 minutes, until just cooked through. Add the bacon back to the pan and stir. Check the sauce for seasoning, and season with salt if needed. Serve over hot grits.

If you don’t have your own preferred method for making grits, here is what I do. I prepare “quick grits,” not instant, according to the package directions, but with slightly less liquid than recommended. Then when the grits are tender and thick, I add a couple tablespoons of butter, salt and pepper, and a drizzle of cream to make them smooth and creamy. 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian Newton permalink
    May 27, 2008 10:00 pm

    I would soooo eat that.

  2. Debby Morton permalink
    May 28, 2008 9:40 pm

    So when is your cookbook going to be avaliable for purchase?

Leave a Reply

