Skip to content

a bygone era

May 31, 2008
tags: , , ,

I remember, as a little girl, watching my big sister get ready for her junior prom. It was such an event. She emerged from the bathroom in a flowing gown, covered in lace and satin that swished and swayed when she walked by me. I dreamed of my prom from that moment on. Sadly though, my prom was much different than I had dreamed. The event was fine, and I had on my arm the man that I would eventually marry. But in 1996, prom fashions just weren’t what I had envisioned in all my childish fantasies. I wore a very lovely, but plain, straight cut red velvet dress. It was pretty, but it just didn’t have that southern belle quality that I admired so much in the dresses of the 1980’s.

Since then I’ve often thought of how fun it would be to wear a dress like that. Who would have thought that 12 years later I would have that opportunity? It turns out that our church is having an 80’s prom for volunteer appreciation, since many of the volunteers grew up in that era, and they have requested that everyone come in 80’s attire. I was in elementary school throughout the 80’s, so I don’t have any old boxes to rummage through. But, it turns out those frilly 80’s dresses are readily available for not very much money on eBay. 🙂

Yep, I bought a prom dress. I just couldn’t resist. I have to say that aside from the smell of mothballs, it is lovely. I modeled it for my boys today. My oldest gasped and said “its beautiful!” My 5-year-old said, “It’s pretty. Why are you wearing that? Can you move from in front of the TV?” The baby just followed me around and said “wow, wow, wow!” I figured we would just resell it after the big event, but after wearing it, I don’t think I’ll be able to part with it. I can just imagine how nice it would be when I’m having a really awful day to put on that dress and prance around the house for a while.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. brumbemom permalink
    June 2, 2008 8:17 am

    That sounds like that will be a “hoot”. Ya’ll will definitely have to post some pics of the event.

Trackbacks

  1. The Tie that Binds « Life, As I See It

Leave a Reply

