Skip to content

back from…um…vacation?

June 5, 2008

We spent the last 4 days camping in the beautiful North Georgia mountains. I do really love to camp, thanks to a hot shower at the campground and an air mattress, but two days of packing and loading beforehand, 4 days of “roughing it” and 2 days of laundry afterward is not exactly a vacation. We really did have a good time though. There was a nice quiet lake with a beach for the kids (and me) to swim in icy cold water and a creek that ran right behind our tents kept them occupied most of the time.

Let’s see, a few of the highlights…

  • I forgot to pack bowls for our chili. Thankfully I had planned the chili for the last night, so there were plenty of empty cans available. It was a little ironic eating homemade chili out of a can, though.
  • I also forgot to pack our pillows. My children had theirs because I told them beforehand that they were responsible for their own bedding. Thankfully, along with teaching them responsibility, I have also tried to teach them graciousness. They shared one pillow while my husband and I shared another 🙂
  • The very intense ladderball tournament, complete with smack-talk courtesy of my husband.
  • Using the bathroom with the stall doors open, in case of sudden bug invasion.
  • My husband would say the highlight was me ending up with a bottom full of iced tea. We were all sitting around the fire and I was sandwiched between the baby on my left, in his own very tiny camp chair and my oldest son on my right. I had my tea in one cupholder and my oldest son’s milk in the other. I had turned to the right to confront my son about why you don’t squeeze a plastic cup when it is full of milk, and the baby decided to help himself to my tea, upending it right into my chair.

In honor of our trip, my recipe for this week is my favorite new camp food. Unfortunately I don’t have a picture for this one.

Dutch Oven Apple Pie

  • 2 cans apple pie filling
  • cinnamon sugar
  • butter
  • 2 sheets puff pastry, thawed

Line dutch oven with heavy duty foil, and grease the foil well with butter. Press one sheet of puff pastry into the bottom and up the sides of the oven. Pour in the apple pie filling and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar. Put a few pats of butter over the the apples and top with the other sheet of pastry. Fold and seal the edges and cut a small slit in the middle. Bake, using 6-8 coals on the bottom and 12-16 coals on the top, for 30-40 minutes. When the top is nicely browned, remove all the heat and let cool for about an hour. Lift the foil lined pie out of the oven and slice.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 7, 2008 7:44 am

    heyaaa, just dropping by your blog. nice to meet you! visit mine and drop some comments, ok? tcare~

Leave a Reply

