Skip to content

a birthday cake and chocolate frosting

June 11, 2008

My good friend Lauren had a birthday this week and I had the privilege of making her a cake. My goal was to create a feminine chocolate cake. It turned out to be one of my favorite cakes so far.

I’d also like to share the recipe I used for the frosting. In the past I’ve always used the standard chocolate buttercream made with powdered sugar and cocoa powder, but I don’t like the cocoa-y taste. So this time I tried something different, and it will be my standard chocolate frosting from now on. It uses chocolate instead of cocoa, and no powdered sugar mess. For the chocolate I used about 75% semi sweet chocolate chips and 25% milk chocolate. You could use any combination of chocolates depending on your taste.

Chocolate Frosting

  • 1 pound chocolate, chopped (or chocolate chips)
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 1/3 cup dark corn syrup
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Heat cream and corn syrup to a boil. Pour over chocolate and whisk until smooth. Stir in vanilla. Let this mixture cool completely, 1-2 hours. Whip frosting with a stand mixer on high until light and fluffy. You may need to refrigerate it for 10-15 minutes to get it cool enough to whip. I found that is spreads best when it is slightly above room temperature, so after whipping I microwaved the frosting for 15 seconds and then stirred it all until smooth.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Debby Morton permalink
    June 12, 2008 10:52 pm

    And I have to say it tasted WONDERFUL as I was one of the lucky people that got to eat this cake. It was really sad to have to cut into such a wonderful piece of art though. Thanks Kendra for a wonderful cake.

  2. scrabblenut permalink*
    June 13, 2008 7:42 am

    Thanks for asking me to make it 🙂

  3. heiditheophilus permalink
    June 13, 2008 10:20 pm

    Wow…that’s professional grade…I’m extremely impressed…I bet it took 50 forevers!

  4. June 19, 2008 6:55 am

    I am just now taking the time to catch up on all my friend’s blogs. That cake was so wonderful! We don’t usually finish cake after birthdays in our house but yours was gobbled up!

  5. Sue permalink
    December 11, 2008 9:03 pm

    Hi Kendra-
    I don’t know you, but I stumbled on your chocolate frosting recipe and tried it for a birthday cake I was doing for my Dad. it was really good; creamy and easy to spread. My Dad said it was the best cake he has ever had. I was really happy with it and just wanted to thank you for posting it!

    Have a wonderful holiday! Sue

  6. Shermaine permalink
    December 10, 2011 10:11 am

    Hi can you give us the recepie for the cake too

  7. Spandor permalink
    June 3, 2012 7:13 pm

    Hiya. It’s a really lovely cake. I’d like to
    Know what frosting did you use to pipe and can
    You please show/tell how you piped it as I’d love to do something similar.
    Many thanks

    • Kendra permalink*
      June 4, 2012 6:31 am

      Thank you. It has been a long time, so I don’t remember exactly what I did, but I’m pretty sure the piping would have been my standard butter cream recipe… 1 cup of butter to 3 cups of powdered sugar, plus vanilla and a dab of milk if it needs to be thinned. It looks like a #12 tip for the beads and maybe a #7 for the vines. The flowers would have been a small rose tip. There are many tutorials about how to make various types of buttercream flowers on youtube, so you might want to try that if you need more guidance. Hope that helps!

      • Spandor permalink
        June 4, 2012 6:41 am

        Thanks for the quick reply. I shall give it a try. Thanks once again

Leave a Reply

