Skip to content

how it all went down (ha… ha… ha…)

June 13, 2008
tags:

9:40 AM The tree guys arrived 20 minutes early.

9:50 AM Tree #1 is down.

10:30 AM Tree #2 is down. It took a little more engineering than the first one. They told the boys, who had been watching from the deck, to stay in the house just in case. I’m thinking, “if it could hit the deck, are we really safe in the house???”

11:00 AM Everybody leaves for lunch… Wait, no, they are going to tackle Kerri’s tree 🙂

1:30 PM Kerri’s tree appears to be down, but still no tree guys. Maybe lunch? They left some of their gear in our yard, so I’m thinking they will be back. Worst case scenario we had two trees cut down for free and I just inherited some rope and gloves and a toolbox. 

2:30 PM They are back. I guess this means my plan to give Eric a toolbox for Father’s day has been foiled. Darn. They are diving right in to tree #3. I’m more than a little nervous, but thankful that the baby woke up from his nap before they got here. If it fell the wrong way, the tree would probably hit his room. Apparently the boys also share my concerns. I hear my oldest shout, “They’re back! We’re all gonna die!”

3:30 PM Tree #3 is down. It was pretty impressive. They wanted it to come down across the driveway and into the road between the mailbox and the cherry tree. They stacked several long logs at the sides of the driveway to absorb the shock and hopefully not crack the concrete. It worked exactly like they planned. I don’t think the tree even touched the driveway. I just hope my groundcover can recover from all the foot traffic and the weight of one enormous tree.

I misplaced the camera for the grand finale, but you can see where the tree landed from the trail of sawdust.

4:30 Clean up is done and they are on their way. Time to survey the damage. My groundcover is in much worse shape than I thought. Ironically, the damage from the tree falling was minimal in comparison to the damage caused by them walking on it. We found plants crushed and broken in places that were nowhere near the tree. They also broke a huge branch on a dogwood and damaged the top of another healthy tree in the back. There is a big oil stain in the driveway from their truck, gas and oil spilled in the grass, and our hose is broken. I still can’t figure that one out.

9:45 PM I sit here wondering if it was all worth it. Hmmm. I think I stand with my original assessment – you get what you pay for. I think the highlight of the day was when my oldest scolded them for walking on the plants… “My mom is going to be really mad at you!”

So, anyone need any firewood?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kermooch permalink
    June 14, 2008 2:56 pm

    I can answer the mystery of where they were for that time – they drove to the bank to cash our check 🙂 Kerri

  2. June 16, 2008 9:17 am

    Well, At least the wood is stacked!

  3. scrabblenut permalink*
    June 16, 2008 9:25 am

    Yes, they did spend quite a bit of time stacking it for me. Before they left, the lead guy cam to me and said “By the way, don’t let the boys play near those piles. I know someone who was killed because a woodpile fell over on him.” I’m thinking, okay, so now I get to tell my 5 and 7 year old boys, “you see those enormous mountains of wood that look like so much fun – stay away from them!” We’re giving away the wood as quickly as possible to get rid of the temptation 🙂

Leave a Reply

