Skip to content

TIMBER!!!!

June 13, 2008

Sometime last week three, uh, “country folk” showed up at my door, shirtless and sweaty, asking if they could give me an estimate to cut down a few dead trees. I told them that we already had several estimates and that we just couldn’t afford to do it right now. One of the guys said, “but you haven’t had an estimate from us…” I figured it was his time he was wasting, so whatever. Well, indeed, his price to take down all three trees was less than any of the other estimates. In fact, it was less than the cost to have one tree removed by any other company.

They approached my neighbor as well because he has a dead tree that has been threatening our fence for a while. Afterward, my neighbor came over to discuss it with me and we both agreed that it was a great deal, but it didn’t exactly seem like a first class operation. They were working out of the back of a car and their business card was a scribbled on piece of torn out notebook paper. They had said they just really needed the work because the economy was hitting them hard. I believe the guy’s exact words were “it’s either do it cheap or don’t eat.” But I just kept thinking, you get what you pay for.

My husband and I were a little too skeptical, and even a great deal is too much if you don’t have the money. I thought my neighbor had decided not to do it either, until yesterday when they pulled up at his house and began trapsing through the yard with chainsaws and ropes. After a good deal of pointing and discussing and rope-tying, they headed over to our yard for some more discussing and pointing. I was getting extremely nervous because it seemed to me they were going to make the tree fall toward our yard, right across all that new landscaping we installed in the spring. So Eric went out to see what was going on. By the time he got out there, my neighbor was in the middle of MY front yard pulling on a rope that was attached to the tree and stretched above my driveway and my new landscaping. I headed out to the porch, but by this time they had begun sawing, so I couldn’t hear anything that was being said.

I watched from the porch as the tree began to fall. I could see the panic across my husband’s face. The neighbor dropped his rope and began to run. The seconds that passed seemed like an eternity as I waited to assess the damage. CRASH!!! Through a cloud of limbs and debris and relieved faces I saw that the tree was lying less than two feet behind all of my plants, not a single one of them harmed. We all stood around astonished, discussing how on earth he managed to get the tree to fall the way it did without touching any of the obstacles it faced on its way down. I could see the tree-guy grinning with pride, knowing that he had sealed the deal for his next job. 🙂

Yep, they will be at my house today. The two biggest trees are out in the woods, far away from any houses or fences. But the third tree is only about 10 feet from my front porch. He assures me that they can get it down without harming anything, even the groundcover that is growing beneath it. We’ll see. I hope to be equally as impressed with the job they do at my house. One thing is certain, I won’t have to figure out how to entertain the children today. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2008 9:23 am

    Good luck with the lumbermen.

    It’s funny how sometimes these “country folk” are better to deal with than those with the pretty business cards. We thought we knew that, but since we moved south it is really being driven home.

  2. kermooch permalink
    June 13, 2008 10:07 am

    They came to our house as well, and I admit that I was skeptical. And because we did not have the money, even though it was a good deal, we passed. If they do a good job today, remind them to come back by our way and maybe we can swing it. Especially since you and your neighbor were the guinea pigs 🙂

Leave a Reply

