Skip to content

you're okay

June 28, 2008

Despite all my positive thinking and praying efforts, the little one has come down with the stomach bug that seems to be circling the neighborhood. It is awful for anyone, I know, but I especially hate it for babies. They just have no clue what is happening to them, and as a mom I’m just left feeling powerless to help. Then there is added bonus that they can’t tell you what is about to happen, so by the time you know that they are about to erupt, it is too late…

He did manage to communicate with me fairly well, after the initial explosion at 4 AM that drowned his pajamas, his bed, and the floor, I didn’t have any more messes to clean up. I could tell when it was time to head to the bathroom because he would begin to whine, and then say to himself “you’re okay,” in a tone that indicated he didn’t really believe his own words.

Here it is 11:30 in the morning and he’s still sleeping off his nighttime activities. Daddy has taken the older ones to a matinee, so the house is very quiet. Whatever shall I do with my free time?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2008 7:44 pm

    I feel your pain!

  2. June 30, 2008 11:59 pm

    Oh, I remember those days, when they are to little to tell you they have to …you know what. There is one night I will never forget we were foster parents of a 4 yr old and my oldest was two and my youngest was just a couple of months old. The 4yr and my oldest were both sick and twice they “you know what” at the same time. I had “it” everywhere. I ended up calling my mom who lives next door crying asking her if she could please come feed the baby because I needed to clean up some more…you know what =o) It was a rough night !!

Leave a Reply

