Skip to content

from out of the mouth

July 2, 2008

I love having a toddler in the house. His vocabulary is exploding with dozens of new words every day. But I don’t really understand why words like ‘duck’, ‘truck’, ‘stuck’, and ‘cluck’ all come out of his mouth with an “f” at the beginning.

I’m sorry if that just caused you to think a foul word. I hate that.

And when he says “what is it?”, it sounds like “oh sit”. I think you can gather what that sounds like to someone who doesn’t already know what he is saying. I just cringe at the thought of what the ladies in the church nursery must think of my family. 

I really think this is one of those things that God is using to teach me a lesson. Before I had kids, I had a nephew that regularly replaced the ‘tr’ at the beginning of “truck” with an ‘f”. He was probably about three and I remember having one of those judgmental thoughts like “when I have kids, I will make sure they speak properly.”  Right. Just like I said that if I ever had a boy, I would make sure he kept a clean toilet. Now I have three. Thanks God, for the friendly reminder that I don’t know it all.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2008 10:30 am

    That is so funny! My nephew used to LOVE fire trucks, and he had the same ‘f’ problem. Eventually they taught him to say “Fire Engine” but it was still pretty funny to see an innocent 2 year old excitedly screaming obscenities when a fire truck drove down the street. Good luck at the church nursery!

  2. laurenst permalink
    July 3, 2008 7:36 am

    How funny! We just have to hold our breath & pray for the best where our kids mouths are concerned!

    What about the times our kids intentially say things/ stories? Michael once told a nursery worker (when he was 3), “when my mommy had me she went “hmmf” & then I popped out!” I had no idea how he knew anything about having babies, maybe he guessed? I did find out later that he thought babies came out of belly buttons. : )

  3. scrabblenut permalink*
    July 3, 2008 9:17 am

    That’s hillarious 🙂

  4. Debby Morton permalink
    July 4, 2008 12:01 am

    As the saying goes “out of the mouths of babes”.

Leave a Reply

