Skip to content

why we need a daddy

July 17, 2008

With the ever-increasing price of gas, family excursions have become few and far between. I never thought I would miss all of us riding together in the car, but I do. The other day we had one of those rare opportunities, nothing fun, just errands to run, but we were all in the car together. I don’t know exactly what started it all, but somehow the conversation veered to a discussion of the reasons we need a daddy.

It began in the typical way – “because he’s fun and he plays with us…” We’ve had similar conversations many times, but this time I was really trying to get more out of them than that. I wanted them to realize what a great guy they have for a dad and how empty their lives would be without him, so I kept asking, “can you think of any other reasons we need daddy?”

To this my beloved middle son replied, “well, Mom needs that little part of him that makes a baby!”

Okay, pick your jaw up off the floor and resist the urge to call and berate me about the garbage I am putting into my children’s heads. Let me explain…

When I was pregnant with our third child, the older boys were constantly asking questions about how the baby got in there. With the wise counsel of Dr. James Dobson, I had already decided how to handle this problem. I wasn’t going to lie to them and tell them stories about a long-legged bird. I wanted to give them child-sized truth. So I said to them, “God takes a little part of Daddy and a little part of Mommy and puts them together inside Mommy’s tummy to make a baby.” That was it. No more questions. Their curiosity was satisfied.

I was pretty pleased with how I had handled that situation.

Until now.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. pilkaake permalink
    July 17, 2008 8:15 am

    That’s a lovely explanation! I’ll have to keep that one in mind 😉 🙂 You guys look like a really lovely family…. I think I envy you a little bit 😉 All the best to you all 🙂

  2. July 17, 2008 8:17 am

    I’ll bet Daddy just LOVED that observation and, um… characterization.

  3. dobeman permalink
    July 17, 2008 8:44 am

    I’m just cracking up over the “little part” comment!

    Did HE think it was funny?

  4. Eric permalink
    July 17, 2008 9:19 am

    My purpose in life is summed up in a single cell – it is sad to know my children think so “little” of me. In all truth, I thought it was quite humerous. I have a new goal in life – to help my children understand why I should matter. LOL.

  5. July 17, 2008 10:43 pm

    I love this! I can’t wait to hear what mine will come up with!

  6. July 18, 2008 12:14 am

    What a great site this is. I am a fan and simply love the way it looks but HEY!!! I am a daddy myself! 🙂

    http://www.godzillachai.blogspot.com

  7. July 18, 2008 12:03 pm

    Oh man! And how did the daddy respond to this?

  8. scrabblenut permalink*
    July 18, 2008 12:13 pm

    He took it pretty well, actually. I think he was very relieved when it occured to him that they were referring to a different “part”. He is the “Eric” from the comment above.

  9. July 23, 2008 9:19 pm

    Oh, that is hilarious! Fabulous explanation, but great how kids interpret things, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

