Skip to content

1 down, 179 to go

August 12, 2008

I never thought I could pull it off so quickly after vacation, but we jumped right in and started school yesterday. I have been very excited about school this year. I absolutely love the beginning of school. To me it is better than New Years’ with all the hope and expectation that it brings. I’ve always been this way, even when I was just a kid myself. No matter how much I hated to see the summer end, there was just something exciting about a new school year.

On a side note, I am absolutely addicted to school supplies. I love freshly sharpened pencils and notebooks with crisp white pages. I love that part of You’ve Got Mail where they are chatting back and forth about New York in the fall and Joe Fox says that fall makes him want to buy school supplies. That is so me!

So anyway, I was really looking forward to this school year. I stayed up only slightly past my bedtime Sunday night reviewing curriculum and thinking over the details of lesson plans. I went to bed feeling prepared and confident that this year would be our best yet…

The alarm clock didn’t go off. Instead, the sound of a screaming baby startled me awake nearly an hour and a half past the time I wanted to get up. Immediately I began going through the list of things I could blow off in order to still start school on time. Hairy legs will have to hang around one more day. Hair and make-up out the window. (I’m only half-girl anyway). One cup of coffee instead of two. Clean up the breakfast dishes after school. Okay, I can do this.

We all head up to the school room only 3 minutes past 9:00. Everything is going to be fine. Then the two that I’m actually hoping to educate look at me with blank stares. “Mom, I can’t fit in my desk…”

Sigh.

I had noticed the last half of last year that the boys were in desperate need of new chairs. Chairs that are too short = great opportunity for chair rocking. So over the summer we scored some brand new used school chairs off eBay. They are a little big for now, but kind of like shoes, buy them a little big and they will last longer! Anyway, in all my excitement about the school year, I forgot that bigger chairs means I have to adjust the desks.

So down to the garage I go to find the appropriate tools for the job.  After 30 minutes of adjusting, the desks are finally right and school begins. I start the oldest off with Bible study and the middle one with English. The little one even has a desk of his own, stocked with books, puzzles, toys, crayons and paper. There is a magnetic board with dinosaur and truck magnets to turn to if he gets bored with his desk. Everything is going great. I am so prepared.

It is quite ironic that the rest of the school day went very much like the airplane experience I was equally prepared for. I spent most of the day attempting to review last years concepts over the much more passionate wailing of my beloved toddler. He didn’t want anything to do with all the lovely supplies I had provided. Nope. He was bored with all of them in 5 minutes. The magnets lasted maybe 10 minutes. Then he was on to bigger and better things. Unloading the bookshelf. Emptying the trash can. Stealing the papers and books from the other boys’ desks. Stealing their pencils and then running through the room almost taunting “I’m going to put my eye out with this nicely sharpened pencil, and you can’t catch me!”

The most reliable tool of the day was his bed. Whenever his behavior got completely out of control, I put him in his bed and said “if you can’t be nice, you will have to stay here.” Then after a few minutes I open the door and say “are you ready to be nice?” To which he jumps up and down and says “NICE!!” So then we start over. 10-15 minutes of peace. 10-15 minutes of H-E-L-L. 10-15 minutes of time-out.

Casualties of the day: one curriculum book (nicely scribbled on), one size 2T shirt (covered in marker), one blue crayon (promptly digested), two erasers from the backs of the newly sharpened pencils (also promptly digested – so much for my school supplies), and my excitement for this school year (crushed by the reality of life).

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2008 8:09 am

    Hey,
    We must go to the same school. That’s what a lot of my first days have looked like. 🙂

  2. kermooch permalink
    August 12, 2008 9:36 am

    This cracks me up! When will we learn? I looove the school supplies, too and always have visions of how school will be. Each year I say to myself – this will be the year when it all comes together. Then we start. It doesn’t help that we always seem to have a baby or toddler in the mix – this year we have both. Yikes!

    At the very least, you are two weeks ahead of me – we won’t be starting until the 27th. By then, you will have probably ironed out a lot of your wrinkles and we’ll just be finding out what ours are!

  3. scrabblenut permalink*
    August 12, 2008 12:55 pm

    One of these days maybe we will all learn to LIVE. IN. REALITY.

  4. August 13, 2008 4:38 pm

    Could you sell me some of your enthusiasm, please??

  5. scrabblenut permalink*
    August 13, 2008 4:58 pm

    If I had any left, I would.

  6. Debby Morton permalink
    August 14, 2008 10:13 pm

    I just love your blog.

  7. scrabblenut permalink*
    August 15, 2008 6:15 am

    Aww, thanks. 🙂

  8. Laurie Clinger permalink
    August 17, 2008 6:38 pm

    Hey girl, Kristin told me to check out your blog about your first day back….Hilarious!! I feel ya, we started back the same day and teaching all three-yikes! Thankfully my toddler days are over….now just the know-it-all three’s, fours, and of course the “I’m a grown-up eight:” I will think of you in my early am hours of prayer! 🙂

  9. scrabblenut permalink*
    August 18, 2008 8:13 am

    Thanks Laurie, I’ll take all the prayer I can get!

  10. August 18, 2008 10:54 pm

    this is the funniest blog i’ve read in a while … i apologize to be laughing at your expense 😉 is it wrong to put a toddler in a crate/kennel w/toys? it seems to work for puppies. clearly, i haven’t raised children 😉 i hope you’re having a much better week this week!

Leave a Reply

