Skip to content

I don't know

August 21, 2008

I’ve come to realize in recent years that there is a stranger living in my house. His name is ‘I don’t know’. I’ve never met him face to face, but I see evidence that he exists everywhere I look. I know my children must have talked with him a time or two because they call him by name daily.

Who left that light on? I don’t know.

Who spilled the mouthwash on the carpet? I don’t know.

Who colored on this wall? I don’t know.

Who left the chewing gum in the laundry? I don’t know.

Even though I’ve never seen his face, I’m quite sure ‘I don’t know’ is a boy. He pees on the floor around the toilet and breaks wind in the car. He’s also responsible for putting the beetle on the kitchen table. I can’t imagine a girl doing those things.

I really wish that whoever this child belongs to would claim him already. He breaks my kids’ toys, spills their milk on the floor, stuffs their laundry behind the hamper so that one sock gets washed but not the other. He leaves the lid off the toothpaste, and never flushes the toilet. And if he does flush the toilet, it is only when he has stuffed it full of toilet paper and he wants to hide it. I’m really tired of living like this. What kind of parents raise a child to act this way?

I keep hoping that my little angel children will set a good example and teach ‘I don’t know’ how to behave like a civilized person. But he’s pretty stubborn and he just doesn’t seem to get it. It seems I may be stuck with him forever.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2008 5:16 pm

    I Don’t Know hasn’t visited our house quite yet but I’m expecting to see him shortly. I’m pretty sure he’s lurking in most homes.

  2. August 21, 2008 7:38 pm

    Hey – we know him and yes, he’s definitely a boy!

  3. mommylounge permalink
    August 22, 2008 5:11 pm

    Well I think I Don’t Know has a twin sister, and she’s been running a muck in our house! 🙂

Leave a Reply

