Skip to content

cleaning my house, cleaning my skin, saving money

September 23, 2008

Okay, so I haven’t had time or the presence of mind for a real blog post in a while. BUT, I did recently discover a few money-saving cleaning options that I wanted to share. Not a lot of creativity required here, just a few recipes. I had heard of home made cleaning products before, but it wasn’t until last week when I realized that I spend $72 a year on my favorite blue window cleaner that I thought maybe I should try them out. Here are a few that I found on www.organizedhome.com:

Window Cleaner – works as well as everyone’s favorite, maybe better, even smells like it too

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup isopropyl alcohol
  • 1 tbsp. clear non-sudsing ammonia

All-Purpose Cleaner – works as well as any commercial cleaner. It does smell vinegary while you’re cleaning, but it goes away when everything is dry.

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup clear liquid laundry detergent

Wood Furniture Cleaner – I love this one, especially since the furniture stores sell wood cleaner for $40 a gallon. I use this on my dining room table, and then follow up with a quick polish.

  • 1 quart water
  • 1/4 cup mild liquid hand soap

Furniture Polish – I haven’t tried this one yet because I still have half a bottle of Old English

  • 1 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice

While I’m on the subject of homemade cleaning products, I should also mention that about a month ago I read about a new way to cleanse your skin on Joanna’s blog. It is called the oil cleansing method, and you can read all about it here. Yep, cleansing with OIL. I was skeptical at first, but after I read about it, it really made sense. I’ve been using a combination of olive oil and castor oil for about a month. My skin is definitely clearer. In the first week or so, I noticed the same mild break-out that I have any time I use a new product. But now my skin is pretty much problem-free. And I rub oil on it every night. Go figure.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2008 7:15 pm

    I still think it’s the weirdest thing in the world but mah skin lurvs it.
    One of the boys had a baaad zit and I put straight castor oil on it and after three days it was gone!!! Sold!

  2. scrabblenut permalink*
    October 1, 2008 7:57 pm

    I know! It’s awesome stuff. Thanks for posting it.

Leave a Reply

