Skip to content

imprisoned in America

October 15, 2008

We the people, of the Divided States of America, in order to fill the pockets of our politicians…

I don’t particularly like to talk politics. But the events of the last few months have brought me to a place where I feel completely disillusioned, and honestly, imprisoned by the politics here in the land of the free. I sit here now, watching the final of the 2008 Presidential Debates, and I hear nothing new – nothing that will make anything better in this country. I’ve heard a handful of legitimately good ideas in this election process, all coming from candidates who were eliminated in the primaries. I sit here and listen to Obama spout lie after lie sugar-coated for his adoring fans to enjoy. McCain says he has new ideas, but he is so busy telling us about all of Obama’s mistakes that we never get to hear about them.

And what about this grand “bailout” plan? Thousands of people called and e-mailed their congressmen to oppose this ridiculous band-aid fix. I have to thank our Republican representatives here in Georgia who actually listened to the people. But both of our senators quickly bowed out and signed on to this legacy of debt for our nation, and both of our esteemed presidential hopefuls jumped on the bailout bandwagon without a second thought, proclaiming that it had to be done and there was no other solution. Did anyone even look at an alternate solution? Again, I heard some good ideas, some real solutions that wouldn’t just attempt to bury years of mistakes. But those ideas were ignored because they involved effort, discipline, and responsibility.

So what can we do? Vote, right? Your vote is your voice. Right? I don’t really believe that anymore. Take for example the Senate race in Georgia. My desire is to vote Saxby Chambliss out of office. He heard the voices of his constituents shouting out to him to say “no” to the bailout. He ignored us. But what is my choice? I either vote for him, or I vote for someone who stands firmly against everything I believe in. Then you have this race for President. Presidential elections in this country have become so full of lies and rhetoric. No one can believe anything these candidates say, because they will say whatever they think people want to hear. But can I really vote my conscience? Of course not. My vote has to be for the lesser of two evils because if I dare vote for someone other than a Democrat or a Republican, my vote is wasted for the sake of having a voice.

I’ll get off this soapbox now and go to bed, knowing that no one has any power that doesn’t come from God. Whether that means we are on a road to judgement and consequences or a road to recovery remains to be seen.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. brumbemom permalink
    October 16, 2008 8:09 am

    Kendra,
    I so feel your heart. I have never liked politics because of what is has become, and after this elction, well, it has more than cemented my previous feelings. It is pitiful that this great land has come down to giving us these two choices for it’s leader.
    Great post.

  2. October 16, 2008 8:52 am

    I appreciate your honesty and am right there with you : )

  3. October 21, 2008 9:55 am

    Yeah, you know – I came to the conclusion that the only way to be a part of a solution was to vote third party. I’m voting Constitution Party. I’m sick of the horse and pony show and tired of voting out of fear that the other guy will win. So be it.

  4. scrabblenut permalink*
    October 21, 2008 10:10 am

    I explored the Constitution party. They are probably the closest to my views on major issues, but I still don’t agree with a lot of what they say, particularly the Iraq issue. I think I would be willing to “waste” my vote on a candidate I could really stand behind. I just haven’t found one yet.

  5. October 21, 2008 10:19 am

    Well said! You’re not the only one that feels this way. A lot of people did not like McCain until he brought on Palin.

Leave a Reply

