Skip to content

drowning pumpkins

October 28, 2008

Yes, this is a picture of five pumpkins floating in my bathtub.

No, I haven’t completely lost my mind.

Every year we carve one pumpkin for each member of our family. No, let me go farther back… 14 years ago Eric and I carved a pumpkin on October 1st to celebrate our first Halloween together. We were a little early. By the time Halloween rolled around our adorable jack-o-lantern face had turned into a striking resemblance of the “where’s the beef” lady.

Now, 14 years later, this pumpkin carving thing has become quite a tradition in our family. As I said, each person in our family gets one pumpkin. We’ve gotten better and better at it and our designs have come a long way from the traditional snaggle-toothed, triangle-eyed Jack.

Normally I am a procrastinator. We buy the pumpkins and the Halloween candy the day before Halloween. We finish carving the pumpkins as the kids are getting their costumes on. Last year we didn’t get the last pumpkin out on the porch until the first trick-or-treaters arrived. This year, I vowed to get it done early, along with the costumes, at least a week before Halloween.

Unfortunately I forgot the lesson of our first pumpkin. After one day of sitting out in the dry October sun, the intricately carved pumpkins were heading down the geriatric path. I heard more than a few I told you so’s from my husband, who had objected to putting them out on the front porch so early. But thankfully we had watched the Halloween episode of Unwrapped this year and caught the suggestion to put a shriveled pumpkin into an ice water bath.

Sure enough, within a few hours our pumpkins were plump and perky again. I guess they will sit enjoying their bath in my tub for a few more days. I have to say though, it is a little creepy to walk in the bathroom late at night and catch a glimpse of all those drowning pumpkins.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 29, 2008 2:59 pm

    I would have never known to soak pumpkins. Sure goes along with the “bobbing for apples” look though. Love it.

Leave a Reply

