Skip to content

a death in the family

October 31, 2008

Lower the flags.

Cue mournful trumpets.

Mr. Coffee is dead.

I woke up Wednesday morning and stumbled my way to the coffee pot as usual, but this time only an empty pot was there to greet me. The little green light was on, but nothing was happening. After checking and rechecking to make sure I hadn’t done something wrong, it was confirmed. Time of death – 6:25 AM.

For the last three days I have been making coffee by slowly pouring boiling water through poor Mr. Coffee. It makes a tolerable cup of coffee, comparable to what I typically get out of a hotel room pot. But by the time it sits in that cold carafe long enough for me to pour the water through, the coffee is barely warm and has to be microwaved. I haven’t been out of bed before 7:30 since the tragedy occurred. Just knowing what is required for one mediocre cup of coffee is enough to make me pull the covers over my head for another hour of sleep.

Now the irony of all this is that I really wanted a new coffee pot for Christmas. My sister got a Cuisinart Grind & Brew with a thermal carafe. I fell in love with it when we were visiting her this summer. The thermal carafe is awesome. It keeps coffee hot without a warming plate for 8-10 hours. That is perfect for me because I usually have one cup of coffee early, then I might have another cup later in the morning, and if it has been a particularly exhausting day, another in the afternoon. The smallest amount of coffee I can make in my Mr. Coffee is 4 cups (2 actual cups). So each time I want one cup of coffee, I have to waste one. I’ve basically been making the equivalent of a full pot of coffee a day and throwing out half of it. The thermal carafe would solve all this. I could make a half a pot of coffee and actually drink the whole thing before it is cold and bitter.

I couldn’t really justify spending close to $150 right now. I don’t NEED a fancy coffee pot. I don’t NEED the grinder that comes with the Cuisinart because I already have a grinder – a Cuisinart grinder. I just NEED coffee. But knowing that this is the third cheap coffee pot that has died inexplicably in the last 6 years, I thought maybe I should look for something better than Mr. Coffee. So after a lot of research and review reading, and after discovering that the coveted Cuisinart is made in China, just like all of my deceased coffee pots, I decided to go with this mid-priced Japanese one – the Zojirushi Fresh Brew.

Beautiful isn’t it? Only twice the price of my Mr. Coffee, and half the price of the Cuisinart. Sorry Mr. Coffee for the embarrassingly short mourning period.

And thanks to a good Australian friend who loaned me her pot today, I will survive without boiling water for coffee until Mr. Zojirushi arrives 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2008 5:09 pm

    Congratulations on your new addition! He is beautiful 🙂

  2. November 1, 2008 8:52 pm

    Some things, I agree, you just have to fork out more for up front but end up worth it in the long run. Especially for coffee!! And Zojirushi is one of those good ol’ homeschooling granola names : ) Great research!

  3. scrabblenut permalink*
    November 1, 2008 10:42 pm

    Thanks Kerri. I’ll have to invite you over to meet him once we get him settled in 😉

    Tricia – Really?? I had never even heard of Zojirushi before last week. I’m glad to hear that I am sticking with the granola trend 🙂

  4. joz1234 permalink
    November 5, 2008 10:43 pm

    I have to agree with Tricia, coffee pots are a must-fork-over-too-much-money-right-this-instant type of buy. Your children and husband will thank you for it…as it will buy them a more stress free life. Hey, it’s cheaper than a massage and a day at the spa…that is only good for what, a week or so?

    Love the Blog!

Leave a Reply

