Skip to content

did I really say "quality" time?

November 10, 2008

When I look back at the naive optimism of my last post, I have to chuckle. Did I really say I hoped my husband would enjoy this trip? If I had only known then what I know now…

I stayed up pretty late Saturday night making plans for a spectacular birthday. I planned to pick up hubby Sunday afternoon after the kids had spent the morning playing and resting. I planned to have his car washed and vacuumed to alleviate a little of the stress of traveling with three small children. Then I thought we could spend the rest of the afternoon casually exploring Savannah. I had spent hours reading restaurant reviews and came up with three different options for a fabulous seafood dinner to follow our lovely afternoon, one in Savannah, one in Darien, and one in between the two, so that we could eat wherever we happened to be when dinner time arrived. Then we would come back to the hotel to open presents and enjoy each others company some more.

Well…

Sunday morning Eric called to tell me that he was actually going to be ready at 10:30. Great! So I hustle the kids to get ready. We skip the park and jump right in the car after breakfast. Eric said I should probably wait until he calls before I leave to pick him up, but since I had the plan to wash his car, I figured we needed to get an earlier start.

About the time I was nearing Fort Stewart, Eric called to tell me that it was going to be 1:00 instead. Oh. OK. No big deal. It is a 45 minute drive between my hotel and the base, so I wouldn’t want to waste the gas to drive back. We’ll just find a park somewhere nearby and spend the morning as we had originally planned. Easier said than done. I drove from gas station to gas station trying to get directions to a park near Fort Stewart. No such luck. After about an hour and a half of driving around I stumbled onto one on my own.

We played at the park for about 20 minutes before my middle child had a poop emergency. Of course the only bathrooms at the park are indoors and it being Sunday and all, everything was locked up tight. So I pile everyone into the car again. It was about 12:30 by this time, so I decided to aim my search for a toilet in the direction of the base. At least I could be close to Eric when it was time to retrieve him.

Not long after we loaded up, the phone rings again. Now it is Eric saying that he won’t be ready until 3:00. Fine. I realize that we aren’t really saving any gas by driving around town for another two hours, so I decide to give up and head back to the hotel. At this point I am still desperately trying to be positive. Maybe the little one can nap for a few minutes. And hey, this gives us time to stop in at the Darien Piggly Wiggly for a birthday cake.

Unfortunately the only small cakes they had were chocolate and coffee flavored. Eric hates both. So, no birthday cake. Oh well. We head back to the hotel, have some sandwiches, and then the phone rings again. It is Eric again. He’s ready to be picked up. it is only 2:00.

We jump back in the car and drive another 45 minutes and finally (after being scolded by a security guard for driving in the wrong place) retrieve the birthday boy. By now I am slightly irritated. Eric is severely irritated at the incompetency and lack of organization he’s been dealing with all weekend. The kids are tired of being in the car. I’m tired of being in the car. Eric is just plain tired. I am still determined to make the most of the day.

After a few minutes everyone’s nerves begin to settle, the mood in the car improves, and we all start to look forward to the evening. We are nearing our exit to Savannah when the little one starts whining. I turned around just in time to see everything he ate that day spewing out of his mouth like Old Faithful. All over the freshly washed and vacuumed car. The evening is officially shot.

We pulled over at the nearest Kroger. I begin to strip little one down to his diaper while he’s crying “Mommy…messy….” . It is approximately 55 degrees outside. Thankfully his favorite blanket was mostly clean and Daddy had bought him a souvenir t-shirt. Eric returns with three gallons of water and two rolls of paper towels. I start the clean up process while he comforts the little guy. About 45 minutes later, I cover the now very wet, but clean, car seat in a layer of paper towels about two inches thick, load up the cold and confused 2 year old and his skeptical puke-fearing brothers, and we get on the road and head for the hotel. After approximately two minutes in the car, Old Faithful is at it again. This time, not wanting to ruin his only clean shirt and the carefully paper-towel-wrapped car seat, I caught the mess in his blanket.

We clean up what we can and continue our journey to the hotel. We manage to get in the room without another incident. While I’m giving little one a much needed bath, Eric heads out to pick up some Wendy’s for dinner. So much for seafood. We eat dinner while the little guy plays in the tub. Thankfully I knew better than to offer him any of our dinner, because about the time I got him out of the tub, the puking resumed. Eric opened his gifts sitting on the floor outside the bathroom while I held the baby over the toilet.

Then we all got ready for bed at 8:00. The sick one was asleep instantly. The rest of us followed shortly behind. Unfortunately it was short lived. The rest of the night is really a blur of whining, puking, towels, toilets, ice chips and sips of water. The last time I looked at the clock it was 4 AM.

Thankfully, he didn’t get sick again after that and the drive home this morning was remarkably quiet. Apparently the fear of disturbing a sick tummy is enough to keep to rowdy boys silent and still for a long time.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2008 10:35 pm

    Poor family! Guess you were mighty thankful to get home. So glad you blogged the blessed beach day.

  2. November 10, 2008 11:26 pm

    Oh! I am so sorry!

  3. kermooch permalink
    November 11, 2008 12:10 am

    I’m thinking no more trips for you for a while 🙂

  4. Debby Morton permalink
    November 12, 2008 12:38 am

    Oh Kendra,

    I am so sorry about your weekend. I am glad that you got to have some time for relaxation and some fun before the chucking set in. Eric won’t forget this birthday in a while hopefully next years will work out better for you all.

  5. November 14, 2008 6:06 pm

    Oh so sorry! That is just the point when you call it a day.

Trackbacks

  1. over the ocean « By Wisdom

Leave a Reply

