Skip to content

fudging fudge

December 16, 2008

Guess what I am doing right now? I am sitting here at the computer, writing this post while I wait for my fudge goo to drop to 110 degrees so that I can then beat it until my arm is aching. Then will commence the annual sighing and hand-wringing as I end up with a stream of goo that solidifies  just as I’m beginning to pour it out of the pan.

I do this to myself every Christmas, and I have yet to make a perfect batch of fudge.  I know, I know, there are so many “foolproof” recipes out there, why should I bother with the old-fashioned disaster-prone variety? Well, because it tastes better. I’ve tried the marshmallow-creme kind and the chocolate chip kind, and while they are all chocolaty and sweet, the flavor just isn’t right. So, here I go again. As I wait, I’m mentally preparing myself for disaster.

Only four degrees to go…

If it turns out how I think it probably will, I am going to attempt another “foolproof” kind. Cooks Illustrated published a recipe that I hope will satisfy my yearnings for tasty, but easy fudge. It uses a combination of unsweetened and semi-sweet chocolate and condensed milk.

Okay, here goes, time to beat…

I just about burned up my mixer trying to save my arms. Then I attempted hand kneading instead of stirring. And the result…

I think I made gritty tootsie rolls instead of smooth and creamy fudge. :/

I quit.

I’ll post on the new foolproof kind once I’m feeling up to cooking again.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2008 11:04 pm

    You’re so funny! I was actually going to post a fudge recipe the other day rather than my Christmas breakfast one. My Aunt Joy’s fudge is one of my favorite things about Christmas. But then I wanted to check with her first. It’s pretty special and very easy – choc chip and evap milk variety you boil for exactly 6 minutes.

    If you feel like it, after you’ve given yourself some time, I’d be glad to share this easier, gentler version 🙂 But now I am remembering the two step pound cake… I shared 🙂

  2. scrabblenut permalink*
    December 16, 2008 11:09 pm

    I would be happy to try your Aunt’s fudge. Thank you. And your pound cake was wonderful. I am supposed to be a good cook. I think I just don’t work well under pressure 🙂

  3. December 18, 2008 11:00 pm

    I just made butter pecan fudge. My arm is still sore!

Leave a Reply

